Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Info on Baby Lock machine >

Info on Baby Lock machine

Info on Baby Lock machine

Old 02-15-2012, 09:41 AM

Default Info on Baby Lock machine

I have been watching some Fons and Porter shows and was wondering about the Baby Lock machine. Does one actually do quilting with these machines or just do the quilt top assembly. I am a newbie and I thought that quilting was done with a "long arm" to handle the larger projects. Also what kind of prices are these machines. I guess I could call a retailer but thought I would check here first. Thanks
Old 02-15-2012, 09:47 AM

I have had a Baby Lock for about 8 years and I love it ... I got it as a Christmas gift then and it was around $800 ... it is computerized. I have done simple stitch in the ditch on baby quilts with it, but I have a Grace frame and a Janome that I can quilt bigger things on. I don't just quilt, I do lots of other sewing too, so it is a very handy machine.
Old 02-15-2012, 10:04 AM

I've had a baby-loc for several years, and it's been a little workhorse. I have the decorator model, which I got for something around $600. It has an automatic threader and cutter, and periodically the machine has to be serviced to keep them working as they should. I have a free motion foot, and have quilted some smaller quilts on it. The throat space isn't really big, so I don't try to do big quilts. They do have a quilting model, which is a little more expensive. I've used mine extensively and can say that it has been well worth the investment.
Old 02-15-2012, 10:21 AM

I have a hand me down baby lock. It is model # BL1556.I don't know its age. The great thing about baby lock is that the insides are all metal, no cheap plastic gears that wear out quickly. I bought their brand name walking foot ($100) after I made the mistake of buying a cheap one ($35) online.
Old 02-15-2012, 10:56 AM