Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • ISO easy framed square pattern for friend >
  • ISO easy framed square pattern for friend

• ISO easy framed square pattern for friend

Old 02-23-2015, 06:37 AM

Default ISO easy framed square pattern for friend

One of my best friends has purchased a machine and has asked me to teach her to quilt. 😳
    We started an easy machine applique project, a BOM snowman series. Her future DIL celebrates Hannukah, and my friend spotted some lovely themed fabrics and wants her first quilt to be a lap quilt for her DIL. I think framed squares will be easy to start with, but I can't find a good free tutorial online...I am a self taught quilter, and I want her to have good instructions to follow-i kind of fly by the seat of my pants!
    This is what I have in mind, but perhaps larger pieces to start with-i think cutting 1 3/4" pieces is a little intimidating for a first project. Any help would be greatly appreciated! . ( I know this would be easy to do, but I am hoping to find a clear and concise pattern for her to follow)

http://www.inspiringcreationsblog.co...and-video.html
    Old 02-23-2015, 06:53 AM

I'm kicking myself for not bookmarking the site...but it was so EASY i didn't bother. It was a clever NO CUT framed square/square in square tutorial. She took a 10" (layer cake) and a 5" (charm)...centered the 5" square on the 10" square - face up - folded the 2 sides in so that the fold was along the edge of the 5" square - pressed and stitched...then did the same with the other 2 sides.
    SOMEONE on the Board will know where that Tute is.....i'll keep looking....cuz i thought it was GREAT for a quick and easy method.
    Old 02-23-2015, 07:07 AM
    Power Poster

is this the one, PenniF? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cgV64kXet7s
    Old 02-23-2015, 08:05 AM

Penni-is this it? Interesting! Thanks! http://www.handicraftsbypeg.com/page.php?c=12
    Originally Posted by PenniF