Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Janome 1600P Help Needed >

Janome 1600P Help Needed

Janome 1600P Help Needed

Old 12-02-2020, 04:58 AM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 235
Default

I looked on the Janome website and this machine takes the HLX5 needles.
QuiltBaer is offline  
Old 12-02-2020, 05:01 AM
  #12  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Davenport, Iowa
Posts: 2,741
Default

I've never heard of the DB needles and my instruction manual says to use HLx5 so that what I'm using currently. I'll look to see if I have a size 16 needle and give that a try. Not sure how to clean the tensions discs...do you have to brush it out or take it apart?
lindaschipper is offline  
Old 12-02-2020, 05:05 AM
  #13  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New Rockford, ND
Posts: 1,962
Default

i have one and all my setting are on 3. it was set that way from dealer. i use so fine thread on mine which i was

told to use when i bought the machine. keep it oil good according to book. i use the same size needle. havent had a problem.

you arent not moving too fast are you?
Joset is offline  
Old 12-02-2020, 10:06 AM
  #14  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Davenport, Iowa
Posts: 2,741
Default

Thank you Joset....if I understand this correctly, your stitch length and tension are on 3....what about foot pressure when you free motion?
lindaschipper is offline  
Old 12-02-2020, 04:03 PM
  #15  
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 8,087
Default

Lindaschipper you should be able to clean the tension discs with a stiff paintbrush or floss. Make sure your bobbin case is also clean. Run the paint brush around the inside of the case, lift up this little flap with a pin - you'd be surprised at how a bit of thread dust can accumulate underneath it and throw things off.
Attached Thumbnails cleaning-bobbin-case.jpg  
Peckish is offline  
Old 12-02-2020, 06:14 PM
  #16  
Power Poster
 
RedGarnet222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Reno, Nv
Posts: 15,782
Default

Try cleaning the tension disks with dental floss. Anything stuck in there might just cause this problem.
RedGarnet222 is offline  
Old 12-02-2020, 11:02 PM
  #17  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mableton, GA
Posts: 10,443
Default

Is it possible your bobbin case got bent or scratched? Or that you have a bad batch of bobbins? Any another check to be sure the bobbin is turning in the correct direction. You must be so frustrated!
Stitchnripper is offline  
Old 12-03-2020, 06:34 AM
  #18  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Davenport, Iowa
Posts: 2,741
Default

Peckish....never would have thought of that. Thank you!
lindaschipper is offline  
Old 12-03-2020, 01:11 PM
  #19  
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 8,087
Default

Originally Posted by lindaschipper View Post
Peckish....never would have thought of that. Thank you!
It's happened to me, that's how I know! 😉
Peckish is offline  
Old 12-03-2020, 11:17 PM
  #20  
Gay
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: S.E. Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,181
Default

This is usually an issue with the stitch regulator or encoders. Here is a video that demonstrates the stitch regulator very well.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pijhu8Cyew0

Check your encoder wheels. Are the skipped stitches going side to side (back encoder X) or for/backwards (side encoder Y ).
If they have rubber around it may need replacing, or the tracks simply need a good clean. These are issues I have with my Lizzie, & can be a real pain.

Last edited by Gay; 12-03-2020 at 11:25 PM.
Gay is online now  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.