Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Janome 8200QC Needle Position Question

  1. #1
    Super Member Watson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,833

    Janome 8200QC Needle Position Question

    On my Mom's Janome 8200QC the needle seems to be stuck off to the left, as when you put the 1/4" foot on, the seam is quite obviously more than a 1/4".
    Using the button that is supposed to move it over doesn't move it in either direction.
    Neither does turning the machine on/off.
    It says 4.5, which I thought was the middle.
    Any other suggestions?
    It's almost brand new.

    Watson

  2. #2
    Super Member IrishNY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    was Upstate NY, now Winston-Salem NC
    Posts
    2,184
    I have the 8200 but can't remember if there is a reset to use as a last resort button. I assume you looked at the troubleshooting guide in the back of the instructions. The only other thing I can think of is to make sure you use the needle up button before trying to move the needle to make sure it's positioned right. If none of those help, I would call the dealer and then maybe take it in for adjusting. I'm sorry your mom is having this problem - so frustrating!
    I'd rather be at the lake

    Do one thing every day that scares you... Eleanor Roosevelt

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Sunny Florida
    Posts
    2,063
    I don't know your machine but a couple of thoughts to try.

    Is there a stitch width button? I think center is at 3.5 on the br0ther machines, etc.

    Is there a stitch selection button? It might be set on one that defaults to the left. Some machines have a 1, 2 or 3 for straight stitch that defaults to left needle, center needle or right needle.

    The other suggestion is to see if a Left/Right shift button is set and causing the issue.

    Good luck. I hope perhaps one of these suggestions jogs the settings.

  4. #4
    Super Member EasyPeezy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,103
    Is she using the straight stitch needle plate?
    If so, she might have to change to the zig-zag plate.

  5. #5
    Super Member Kitsie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ridgefield WA
    Posts
    7,355
    Blog Entries
    41
    I googled (of course, I always do!) and there are quite a few instruction video's. I entered "Janome 8200QC, how to change needle position". Perhaps you can find help there or have you tried calling a Janome vendor? Perhaps the one she purchased it from? And yes, check if the straight stitch only plate is off.

    Wishing you luck.
    http://s1248.photobucket.com/albums/hh485/KitsieH/
    Never regret growing older, its a privilege denied to many.
    Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.

    Kitsie

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8,204
    I have the 8200. I always use my 1/4" foot, and I always set the machine to Mode 1, stitch 08, which automatically moves the needle to the correct position.

    Does the needle move to any other position when you try? Or is it just not responding to moving right? I would call the dealer. Might be a solution they can tell you over the phone (before committing it to a service). At any rate, if it's practically brand new, it's probably under warranty.

  7. #7
    Junior Member Bobbinalong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    NE England
    Posts
    130
    I have an older Janome 4800 which sews 'to the right' when set at 3.5 giving me narrower seam than the measurement on the needle plate. I always move the needle to the left when using a 1/4" foot.

    The needle doesn't actually move to the left until you begin sewing, which is why you may not see it move when you adjust the settings. See if yours is the same.

  8. #8
    mkc
    mkc is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    202
    I know on the newer 8900SE, which has different needle plates, the needle won't move to a position the machine doesn't think the plate supports.

    If the newer 8200 is the same, have her try a different needle plate. If that doesn't allow the needle position to move, check the needle plate sensor to see if something is interfering with it working correctly.

    Michelle

  9. #9
    Super Member Watson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,833
    Thanks everyone. I'll give your suggestions a try.

    Watson

  10. #10
    Member crzypatcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    So. Ca desert
    Posts
    98
    My new Janome 6700 is set up the same way. It definitely makes a difference which needle plate you have installed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.