Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Janome 8200QC Needle Position Question >

Janome 8200QC Needle Position Question

Janome 8200QC Needle Position Question

Old 03-10-2018, 07:38 AM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,539
Default Janome 8200QC Needle Position Question

On my Mom's Janome 8200QC the needle seems to be stuck off to the left, as when you put the 1/4" foot on, the seam is quite obviously more than a 1/4".
Using the button that is supposed to move it over doesn't move it in either direction.
Neither does turning the machine on/off.
It says 4.5, which I thought was the middle.
Any other suggestions?
It's almost brand new.

Watson
Watson is offline  
Old 03-10-2018, 07:48 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
IrishNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: was Upstate NY, now Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 2,241
Default

I have the 8200 but can't remember if there is a reset to use as a last resort button. I assume you looked at the troubleshooting guide in the back of the instructions. The only other thing I can think of is to make sure you use the needle up button before trying to move the needle to make sure it's positioned right. If none of those help, I would call the dealer and then maybe take it in for adjusting. I'm sorry your mom is having this problem - so frustrating!
IrishNY is offline  
Old 03-10-2018, 08:04 AM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 3,340
Default

I don't know your machine but a couple of thoughts to try.

Is there a stitch width button? I think center is at 3.5 on the br0ther machines, etc.

Is there a stitch selection button? It might be set on one that defaults to the left. Some machines have a 1, 2 or 3 for straight stitch that defaults to left needle, center needle or right needle.

The other suggestion is to see if a Left/Right shift button is set and causing the issue.

Good luck. I hope perhaps one of these suggestions jogs the settings.
Rhonda K is offline  
Old 03-10-2018, 08:28 AM
  #4  
Super Member
 
EasyPeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,277
Default

Is she using the straight stitch needle plate?
If so, she might have to change to the zig-zag plate.
EasyPeezy is offline  
Old 03-10-2018, 08:58 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ridgefield WA
Posts: 7,612
Default

I googled (of course, I always do!) and there are quite a few instruction video's. I entered "Janome 8200QC, how to change needle position". Perhaps you can find help there or have you tried calling a Janome vendor? Perhaps the one she purchased it from? And yes, check if the straight stitch only plate is off.

Wishing you luck.
Kitsie is offline  
Old 03-10-2018, 09:57 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 9,277
Default

I have the 8200. I always use my 1/4" foot, and I always set the machine to Mode 1, stitch 08, which automatically moves the needle to the correct position.

Does the needle move to any other position when you try? Or is it just not responding to moving right? I would call the dealer. Might be a solution they can tell you over the phone (before committing it to a service). At any rate, if it's practically brand new, it's probably under warranty.
zozee is offline  
Old 03-10-2018, 11:44 AM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
Bobbinalong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: NE England
Posts: 212
Default

I have an older Janome 4800 which sews 'to the right' when set at 3.5 giving me narrower seam than the measurement on the needle plate. I always move the needle to the left when using a 1/4" foot.

The needle doesn't actually move to the left until you begin sewing, which is why you may not see it move when you adjust the settings. See if yours is the same.
Bobbinalong is offline  
Old 03-10-2018, 02:30 PM
  #8  
mkc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 408
Default

I know on the newer 8900SE, which has different needle plates, the needle won't move to a position the machine doesn't think the plate supports.

If the newer 8200 is the same, have her try a different needle plate. If that doesn't allow the needle position to move, check the needle plate sensor to see if something is interfering with it working correctly.

Michelle
mkc is offline  
Old 03-10-2018, 03:09 PM
  #9  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,539
Default

Thanks everyone. I'll give your suggestions a try.

Watson
Watson is offline  
Old 03-14-2018, 02:14 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
crzypatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: So. Ca desert
Posts: 109
Default

My new Janome 6700 is set up the same way. It definitely makes a difference which needle plate you have installed.
crzypatcher is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Hockeyrabbit
Main
9
01-27-2013 05:46 AM
Sunnie
Main
5
09-05-2011 09:22 AM
nance-ell
Main
6
07-09-2011 10:05 AM
quilting1958
Main
8
05-07-2011 07:18 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.