Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Janome and Brother feet >

Janome and Brother feet

Janome and Brother feet

Old 09-26-2010, 08:51 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Jodie02b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 216
Default

Can you use a Brother foot on a Janome?
Jodie02b is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 08:52 PM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Sadiemae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,375
Default

If it is the same and fits, I don't see why not. There are some machines that will not interchange, especially Bernina.
Sadiemae is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 08:55 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Jodie02b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 216
Default

I have a Janome and have some thank you points with Citibank and just realized they have quilting stuff but mostly brother. Since its all online I wouldnt know until it arrives, I didnt want to take the chance if it didnt.
Jodie02b is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 09:00 PM
  #4  
Power Poster
 
Sadiemae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,375
Default

Maybe someone will post tomorrow that knows both machines. If not, I could call the LQS in my town and ask. The owner is very sweet and would gladly answer my questions.
Sadiemae is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 09:07 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Jodie02b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 216
Default

Thanks that would be great!
Jodie02b is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 09:18 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
wvdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: A million dollar view!
Posts: 8,830
Default

I have a Janome but do not know the answer to this. Will watch this post to find out.
wvdek is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 09:50 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 96
Default

I have a brother qc1000 and a janome dc3050. The walking feet are interchangable, but the snap on feet are not. I tried just tonight to snap on a janome foot on my brother-it snaps on but doesn't lay flat.
midwifehc is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 10:00 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Jodie02b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 216
Default

Originally Posted by midwifehc
I have a brother qc1000 and a janome dc3050. The walking feet are interchangable, but the snap on feet are not. I tried just tonight to snap on a janome foot on my brother-it snaps on but doesn't lay flat.
Thanks, right now I only have a zipper foot and a 4 button hole, I was thinking about the 1/4" seam. They have that one and the walking foot or quilting foot.
Jodie02b is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 10:54 PM
  #9  
Community Manager
 
PatriceJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Posts: 8,787
Default

many other brands of feet will fit onto a janome machine. they will work ... sort of ... but never as well as a janome brand foot will work.

irritating, but true. :lol:
PatriceJ is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 09:28 AM
  #10  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: indiana
Posts: 1,379
Default

i have a janome2010 & a brother anovis 450q [both new] SOME of the feet are interchangable.the 1/4" foot w/guard isn't,but most of the others i'e tried are.the 1/4" foot w
as bought separately,so maybe that's the diff
dar627742 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
CAS49OR
Main
0
10-13-2013 03:21 PM
Toni C
Links and Resources
10
01-05-2013 09:53 AM
kiffie2413
Main
16
07-31-2012 10:01 AM
Quiltforme
Links and Resources
5
09-23-2010 03:00 PM
tweetee
Main
4
09-20-2010 06:19 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.