Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
joining blankets to use as batting >

joining blankets to use as batting

joining blankets to use as batting

Old 02-18-2007, 09:39 AM

Hi Quiling Lovers, I'm new to this chat room so PLEASE excuse any mistakes I make I'm making 3 lap quilts for my 3 grandchildren. I'm using two old, very old, blankets that my daughter used while she was growing up. I'm lightly quilting the tops and plan on using the blankets as the batting. I have two done and now I have to combine the left over pieces of blankets to make a batting for the third one. HELP! How do I join these pieces without adding more bulk. I would appreciate any suggestions! THANKS:)
Old 02-18-2007, 10:04 AM
Administrator

lay them out nice and flat. let each of the pieces overlap the other(s) by about 2". Using scissors or a rotary cutter, cut through the overlapped layers using a wavy line. i know it sounds wierd but - trust me - wavy is better. then pull away the scraps. you'll find your pieces are perfectly matched and flat.

you could hand-stitch them together - as though your were stitching up a cut.

you could try forming a temporary bond using freezer paper, then take it to the machine where you'd use one of the mending stitches. just tear the freezer paper away when you're done.

lazy thing that i am, i'd get the lightest weight, single-sided fusible webbing or interface i could find and use that to stick 'em together. i'd either reinforce it on the other side with a really wide zig-zag stitch, or just us more of the interfacing. (that would depend on how much bulk it added to the blanket.) safe to do it to both sides if you're machine quilting.

we all make mistakes here. as for me ... i make 'em here, there, and everywhere! :wink:
Old 02-18-2007, 10:16 AM

Thanks for this suggestion! This sounds like something I can handle! And I can't mess it up too bad.
Old 01-17-2008, 07:16 AM