Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Laptops for Quilting?? (using Quilting Software!!)

  1. #1
    Senior Member cny_sewer39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Temple, TX (Transplanted from New York 2010)
    Posts
    740
    Hello, I am interested in purchasing a laptop. I would like one that is capable of using Quilting Software in the hard drive. Are there any quilter's who use a laptop for quilting??? :thumbup: Any help would be appreciated. Any suggestions would be GREAT!! :) :) :) Thanks for your help and suggestions.

    debra

    cny_sewer39

  2. #2
    Junior Member sandyquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    248
    Mostly it depends on the software and their requirments. Dell Inspiron X15R is a great one and priced good.

  3. #3
    Super Member quiltsRfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    8,025
    Blog Entries
    1
    What kind of quilting software? EQ7 or one that interfaces with your sewing machine?

  4. #4
    Senior Member cny_sewer39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Temple, TX (Transplanted from New York 2010)
    Posts
    740
    EQ7 or any of the paper piecing softwares would be great.

    debra

    cny_sewer39

  5. #5
    Super Member quiltsRfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    8,025
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have EQ7 installed on my laptop and have no problems. Read the system requirements for the program then make sure you get a laptop that will handle it. I don't know what my laptop has cause I leave all of that technical stuff up to DH.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Roswell, NM
    Posts
    1,636
    I have a laptop Dell Inspiron 1545 w/ Vista, 3GB--bought it a couple of years ago when WalMart had them on for $400. I have EQ7 installed plus pictures and games and the usual office programs. I have plenty of space.

  7. #7
    Super Member rusty quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Ft. Gratiot, MI
    Posts
    1,959
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a Macbook pro, with 1/2 of my hard drive as Windows 7. I run EQ7 on the windows side, and do everything else Mac. It is worth it for me--but most would rather stick with a windows platform (sorry for their troubles).

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    347
    I've got an older Acer and loaded Electric Quilt 7 with no problems. Works like a charm and I love it. Making photo quilts now....

  9. #9
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lake Elsinore, CA
    Posts
    12,400
    The EQ web site will give you the exact computer requirements. I doubt that you can find a newer PC that won't run EQ.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Boscobd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    997
    I have a Dell XPS laptop running Windows Vista. I have EQ7 installed and it runs just fine. I also have wireless internet along with a wireless mouse and printer. No problems!

  11. #11
    Senior Member TracyRenea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    342
    Quote Originally Posted by rusty quilter
    I have a Macbook pro, with 1/2 of my hard drive as Windows 7. I run EQ7 on the windows side, and do everything else Mac. It is worth it for me--but most would rather stick with a windows platform (sorry for their troubles).
    I have an iMac 10.1. I looked at the EQ7 last weekend and put it back because it didn't list Mac's. How do I get windows on my Mac?

  12. #12
    Junior Member adorabowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    189
    You can get windows on mac by running bootcamp (in utilities) and then inserting a disk of windows software. It creates a partition between the two memories (mac vs. windows) and then you just run bootcamp whenever you want to switch to windows for using EQ. Usually about a 70 to 30 ratio from mac to windows will do it if you are only using the windows side for the EQ, keeping in mind the more space you use on windows, the less you will have for your usual mac activities.
    Really wish they would introduce mac capability for eq!
    There is also a support group for mac users of EQ on the EQ website :)

  13. #13
    Senior Member TracyRenea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks so much. :wink:

  14. #14
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    in retirement
    Posts
    1,517
    Blog Entries
    3
    I have an Acer & a Compaq have EQ6 on both runs fine.Also have embroidery software on them.

  15. #15
    Super Member pamesue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Michgan
    Posts
    1,386
    I have an HP laptop vista, I run EQ7 and embroidery software...no problems at all.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.