Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Looking for pattern ideas >

Looking for pattern ideas

Looking for pattern ideas

Old 10-26-2017, 10:54 AM

Default Looking for pattern ideas

I desire to make my mother a quilt and she favors this type of pattern design found on Craftsy

https://www.craftsy.com/quilting/kit...ilt-kit/495186

Unfortunately, she needs a narrower twin sized (rectangular) quilt vs this 90"x 90" full/queen. I'm not experienced enough to figure out how to modify this and still maintain the bordered design.

Therefore, I'm searching for a pattern that might resemble some of the general features of this design in a twin size.

Thank you in advance for any suggestions!

Christine
Old 10-26-2017, 12:00 PM

How good / creative are you at changing things around?

I see three options:

Buy it and then sew everything up (the squares, the middle, etc.) and buy extra white fabric and see how you can rearrange things to make it more narrow and longer before sewing it all together

Another option is to buy two of them LOL and have the center piece centered, and have a rectangular inner border, then the outer border.

Final option ... buy the pattern only, and adjust it to how you want to do it, and then buy your own fabric

If you have EQ you could design it (lots of us on here have it - I do) and could show you what it would look like.

I'd be willing to try and show you what it could look like if you gave me some ideas on how you would like the layout!
Old 10-26-2017, 01:26 PM

I played with it a bit on my EQ and came up with this ... it's missing the "middle border" but mainly because I'm not good enough in EQ yet to figure out how to make the middle squares smaller than the rest of them.

The blocks on this are 5x5, so if you made the middle "flowers" smaller, you could add the middle border around it.

Good luck

[ATTACH=CONFIG]583006[/ATTACH]
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
quilt.pdf (287.9 KB, 263 views)
Old 10-26-2017, 04:45 PM