Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Looking for suggestion on quilting  a photo quilt? >

Looking for suggestion on quilting a photo quilt?

Looking for suggestion on quilting a photo quilt?

Old 06-23-2012, 03:32 PM

Smile Looking for suggestion on quilting a photo quilt?

I am new to longarm quilting and I have been asked if I would quilt a photo memory quilt for a friend.
I was thinking about doing a meander design. Would that be the best choice or not? It is for a high school a graduate (boy).
Also would it be best as an all over quilting even through the photos or just up to the photos?
Thanks ahead for any ideas. Connie
Old 06-23-2012, 03:42 PM

A lot would depend on what the batting asks for in distance of quilting....I would not meander thru the pictures if at all possible..perhaps just outline the photos? It would help if you could post a pic of the top
Old 06-23-2012, 04:04 PM

I have not recieved the quilt from her as of yet. Maybe Wed. night. I am new to this site and would probably need help posting a picture.
If I could figure out the posting I would love to share a picture of a quilt I just finished for my soon to be grandson.
I know I just went off the real question here. I am sorry, I just thought it turned out better than I had thought it would
Old 06-23-2012, 04:05 PM

I think she will be using W/N or an 80/20 batting.
Old 06-23-2012, 05:29 PM

I would avoid sewing over the pictures. It will likely ruin them. I would outline them instead. Once you post pix, it will be easier to comment on the design.
Old 06-23-2012, 06:11 PM
Power Poster

I understand that quilting photo quilts can be quite challenging. There have been a lot of conversations about it on the longarm yahoo groups, and on this site. Hopefully the people who constructed the quilt will have thought about all the issues and it will be ready to longarm. Good luck!
Old 06-25-2012, 08:09 AM