Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Machine quilting help >

Machine quilting help

Machine quilting help

Old 04-25-2008, 05:08 AM
  #1  
nel
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mt. Prospect, IL
Posts: 32
Default

I have never machine quilted, but I know lots of you do. My machine has a "quilt" stitch setting. Do you machine quilters use that stitch or do you sew with a larger or smaller stitch than when just piecing? Do you use quilter's thread on top and in the bobbin? Please help- I want to give it a try.
nel is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 09:44 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Clay Springs AZ
Posts: 3,229
Default

I have not heard of that, could be a setting for 1/4 inch or a special stitch.
Test it on a scrap and see what it does.
Rose Marie is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 10:14 AM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,768
Default

My machine has quilt stitches also. Have you taken fabric to see how it stitches? I know mine in the manual sez to look like hand made stitches. So check it. But my other machine the quilt stitch is for applique. So just check it. Let me know!
DonnaRae is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 10:29 AM
  #4  
nel
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mt. Prospect, IL
Posts: 32
Default

I have tried the stitch. You are supposed to put clear thread in either the bobbin or the top( I forget which one) and regular thread in the other and it does come out like hand stitching. I just wasn't sure if regular machine quilters used this stitch or not.
nel is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 11:26 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,768
Default

Yes, I do but you do not have to use the clear thread. It is up to you! I actually like the stitch on my machine.
DonnaRae is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 02:01 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
mary705's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pinellas Park, FL
Posts: 607
Default

Mine also has it, but haven't used it. The manual says to put the color you want on the quilt top in the bobbin, and clear or matching back color on the top.
mary705 is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 08:31 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,768
Default

Originally Posted by mary705
Mine also has it, but haven't used it. The manual says to put the color you want on the quilt top in the bobbin, and clear or matching back color on the top.
Mine sez the same about clear thread, but that is assuming you don't want the thread to show. The point is to put the thread in the top as if you were hand sewing and then use whatever you want on bottom, clear if you don't want it to show and color if you don't care, or a specific color if you are doing a reversable quilt. The same applies to the top. You are useing the stitch as any other stitch on the machine, it just is suppose to look like hand quilting. Wow, that was long winded. :D
DonnaRae is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 12:53 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
fabuchicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 168
Default

On my machine you have to adjust the tension of the bobbin case carefully to get it to work. When I talked to the sewing machine repairman he told me to only use Metler thread to try this (in the bobbin and clear in the top) and DON'T try it through a quilt sandwich. He said use it as a decorative stitch on the top layer instead. I haven't done anything with it because I like to hand quilt anyway but test in on a similar sample before you try it on your quilt.
fabuchicki is offline  


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.