Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Making a throw that looks like a quilt >

Making a throw that looks like a quilt

Making a throw that looks like a quilt

Old 10-13-2010, 02:42 PM

You may have seen the quilts at the Cracker Barrel that have blocks with embroidery on them. I love those and want to make my own. But I thought instead of cutting out squares and doing them, I would buy a sheet and mark off the squares on it. Then, I can add the stabilizer to each block and embroider on it. Next I will add the batting and backing and do the kind of stitching I want on it as the quilt design. I can straight stitch the blocks first so I will have them all ready. I will hoop each block to embroider. What do you think of this? I am new to quilts.
Sandy
Old 10-13-2010, 02:46 PM

I've never tried that and I'm interested in how it works.
Old 10-13-2010, 02:55 PM
Power Poster

It sounds interesting. I think it would work. Keep us posted on your progress.
Old 10-13-2010, 02:59 PM

It might be tough going with the thread count of sheets to do by hand. Suggest trying out a small piece to start with and see how you like. Thread count of a sheet is higher than that of 100% cotton fabric and the fabric store. Give a try though. K

Originally Posted by MSandy
You may have seen the quilts at the Cracker Barrel that have blocks with embroidery on them. I love those and want to make my own. But I thought instead of cutting out squares and doing them, I would buy a sheet and mark off the squares on it. Then, I can add the stabilizer to each block and embroider on it. Next I will add the batting and backing and do the kind of stitching I want on it as the quilt design. I can straight stitch the blocks first so I will have them all ready. I will hoop each block to embroider. What do you think of this? I am new to quilts.
Sandy
Old 10-13-2010, 02:59 PM

Thanks, I will. I just thought that a sheet would be wide enough without having to have a middle seam.
Sandy
Old 10-13-2010, 03:02 PM