Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Margin of Error Question >

Margin of Error Question

Margin of Error Question

Old 06-17-2014, 11:14 AM

Default Margin of Error Question

First off, sorry for all the questions lately! I'm pretty new to this and self-taught at this point. Also a perfectionist....which I know is both good and bad with quilting.

I'm tackling my first big project, a basic patchwork quilt with 5.5" finished squares (well, a little under that as my 1/4" seam isn't perfect...) I've only made a small rag quilt before which I know is much more forgiving with errors so I'm trying to get an idea of how "off" I can before I spend hours making what will turn out to be defective strips. Of course, in the pictures I took, the seams don't look AS bad; I did put arrows in what to me are the worse spots. My question is: for the project I'm doing, are these variations acceptable, or should I start over? (You can see a larger image if you right-click open in new tab or view image)

Old 06-17-2014, 11:17 AM
Power Poster

Those are very tolerable - and my tolerance for error is pretty low.

When you sew the next row to that, it really won't matter at all -IF your squares are the same size and your seam allowances are consistent.
Old 06-17-2014, 11:27 AM

Consistency is the key - if your 1/4 inch seam is slightly off - as long as it is consistent you should be able to make the corners match up. When you move on to more complex designs, you may need more accuracy with seam allowance - but by then you'll have it work out to perfection.

Your strip looks great and I don't see anything that would trip me up.

Cheers, K
Old 06-17-2014, 11:38 AM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by CorgiNole View Post