Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Maybe I have to quit calling myself a beginner.... >

Maybe I have to quit calling myself a beginner....

Maybe I have to quit calling myself a beginner....

Old 06-20-2011, 10:47 AM

I just organized my hall closet, and in the process, came up with the number of quilts I have made so far....24!!! Maybe I have to quit calling myself a beginner?? I have kept most of my quilts, so the ones I have made for charity or have given away can be easily calculated....and I still am shocked that it is 24!!

Most patterns still look too complicated to me, but maybe I can call myself an intermediate quilter now. I have been quilting 2 years. I retired 3 years ago, and, even though I fought quilting, I can't believe how much I have enjoyed this hobby. (I did not think I was patient enough to quilt....that is why I fought it.)

Anyway, I will quit saying that I am a beginner... I did join this forum quite soon after I started quilting, and you have all been so helpful. I could not have changed the blade in my rotary cuter the first time without the advice that I got immediately when I posted my question.

This is a good place to be, no matter what level of quilter I really am. :)
Old 06-20-2011, 11:00 AM

Your story sounds like mine. I hated the thought of quilting all those little blocks together, so precise and meticulous. I finally gave in and learned to do a simple quilt and now I'm hooked. I still hate the little blocks and triangles but have learned ways to get around that. That's what I love the most. The ingenuity of these quilters and how they figured out easier ways to make a complicated pattern. I've become fascinated with all the different styles and colors. Like you, I've learned so much on this board...thanks everyone! This is the best place...
Old 06-20-2011, 11:05 AM

Stepping right up there... I'm soooo still a newbie :)
Old 06-20-2011, 11:22 AM