Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: my new viking

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    indiana
    Posts
    1,412
    sappire 835 is suddenly giving me FITS! i'm trying to sew a simple pair of stretch pants,& the top thread keeps breaking.i have....changed thread,completely dismantled the bobbin &changed that thread,re-threaded the upper thread a dozen times , am going to try a diff. needle next.just bought it in june & tho i haven't had much time to sew,what i have done i was very happy with.if anyone has any suggestions, i would appreciate it.don't want to take it in if i don't have to!
    thanx in advance,dar :-D

  2. #2
    Super Member fayzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Destin, Fl
    Posts
    1,881
    Blog Entries
    1
    Are you using a ball point needle?

  3. #3
    Super Member SandyinZ4's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Southeast Idaho
    Posts
    3,165
    Blog Entries
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by dar627742
    sappire 835 is suddenly giving me FITS! i'm trying to sew a simple pair of stretch pants,& the top thread keeps breaking.i have....changed thread,completely dismantled the bobbin &changed that thread,re-threaded the upper thread a dozen times , am going to try a diff. needle next.just bought it in june & tho i haven't had much time to sew,what i have done i was very happy with.if anyone has any suggestions, i would appreciate it.don't want to take it in if i don't have to!
    thanx in advance,dar :-D
    I was having the same trouble with my little Viking Daisy when I was sewing fleece.

    http://www.quiltingboard.com/t-162661-1.htm

    Called the shop and they said that since it was stretchy material I should use a stretch needle. I had never heard of such a thing but ordered a few to try. Will let you know if they work. They also said thread could be old but I pulled on it by itself and I could not break it. I think the needle is the problem. Perhaps others have more suggestions.

  4. #4
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,486
    Blog Entries
    2
    Can you just call your dealer? I usually can get an answer over the phone from mine

  5. #5
    Super Member fayzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Destin, Fl
    Posts
    1,881
    Blog Entries
    1
    The stretch needle is the ball point needle. It is rounded and goes between the knit fibers.

  6. #6
    Super Member quiltsRfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    8,161
    Blog Entries
    1
    When my machine acts up like that I turn it off and walk away for a few hours or overnight. Don't know if it's me or the machine that needs a break but it usually works when I come back.

  7. #7
    Senior Member 1000projects's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Carmel Indiana
    Posts
    458
    I oil my thread just a tiny bit ... Silicone oil... Might help!

  8. #8
    Junior Member emsunfire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    186
    make sure your presser foot is up when you thread your machine.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    indiana
    Posts
    1,412
    thank you for your fast replies! will try all of your suggestions & let you knowe what hasppens.
    thanx again so much,knew i could depend on all my friends on the board!!!
    dar

  10. #10
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    44,307
    Blog Entries
    45
    sounds like the needle, get a ball point needle

  11. #11
    Senior Member Lucky Lady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ellsworth, Maine
    Posts
    443
    Could be a problem with the tension. I have a viking Topaz and have had to play around with a tension a bit instead of using the default setting. It depends on the weight of the thread and the type of fabric. Good luck!!

  12. #12
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,160
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by emsunfire
    make sure your presser foot is up when you thread your machine.
    Yes, what she said! Also, on the Sapphire, you have to make sure it is ALL the way up also. There are different levels of height and it does make a difference because of the automatic presser foot settings.

    Hopefully the ball point needle will solve your problem.

  13. #13
    Super Member purplefiend's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Round Rock,Texas
    Posts
    6,133
    Quote Originally Posted by dar627742
    sappire 835 is suddenly giving me FITS! i'm trying to sew a simple pair of stretch pants,& the top thread keeps breaking.i have....changed thread,completely dismantled the bobbin &changed that thread,re-threaded the upper thread a dozen times , am going to try a diff. needle next.just bought it in june & tho i haven't had much time to sew,what i have done i was very happy with.if anyone has any suggestions, i would appreciate it.don't want to take it in if i don't have to!
    thanx in advance,dar :-D
    Have you cleaned out the bobbin case area lately? Make sure that the take-up lever is threaded. I have the 875 and that's the first thing I check when my machine is giving me problems.
    Sharon W.

  14. #14
    Super Member sewbeadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    3,999
    Sounds like you need a knit needle.

  15. #15
    Junior Member alices's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Horton, Michigan
    Posts
    134
    Blog Entries
    1
    Sounds like your needle

  16. #16
    Super Member 3incollege's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    western Pa.
    Posts
    2,258
    Quote Originally Posted by alices
    Sounds like your needle
    ditto-ball point

  17. #17
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    4,726
    Also, doesn't this machine have the 'sewing advisor' panel on it for different fabric types??? My older Platinum does. Check your manual for which setting is for knits as well. This should auto adjust your tension. That, along with a ball point needle, should do you just fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.