Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need Advice about buying first Longarm!!! >

Need Advice about buying first Longarm!!!

Need Advice about buying first Longarm!!!

Old 09-09-2011, 09:37 AM

Hi,
I am relatively new to quilting, and I am starting a charity to make quilts for cancer patients, and also to sell for cancer charities. I am pretty quick doing simple patterns, but take a while to quilt my work. It is painful - my arm and my neck and back end up killing me, pushing and pulling and shoving, and getting all sorts of frustrated!!! I would like to get a longarm so that I can do a quilt top in a few hours, rather than days!! I am able to do a simple quilting pattern on my friend's longarm in about 2 hours, so it would save me a ton of time!!

So, what do you recommend?? I am on a budget, big time. Around 5K, tops!!! I may need financing, so used is probably not an option for me. I looked at the Tin Lizzie online, the Queen one??? I need simple, probably a stitch regulator, nothing else complex. I also do a lot of art quilts, which I probably wouldn't do on a longarm???

Can anyone help with suggestions? Thank you very much,
Nancy

I am using a Janome 6300 (???) now, it has a good sized opening, but it is still a trial. Thanks!
Semi-newbie!!
Old 09-09-2011, 09:41 AM
Power Poster

I have a Viking branded Tin lizzie, with stitch regulator and love it. I'm not very good yet, but it is so much fun. It is not fussy about thread, was easy to set the tension and pretty basic to operate.
If you have a Viking dealer (maybe in JoAnns) near you, you may want to check and see. They were on sale this summer.
Old 09-09-2011, 09:46 AM

Thanks! That is what I need - simple and not fussy!! I didn't know Viking made Tin Lizzie?? I have a Viking dealer near me, I will go check it out,
Nancy
Old 09-09-2011, 09:51 AM
Power Poster