Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need Advise! >

Need Advise!

Need Advise!

Old 12-06-2010, 08:00 AM

Hi everyone,

I've been quilting now for over ten years, but never done a bargello. Seeing all those wonderful bargellos here on the site, made my decission even easier.

This new year I'm going to start one. I got my pattern already.
It's called, "Melinda's heart". Gorgeous!
(I'm not able to show pics yet)

Now I got doubts! Has anyone done this before? Is it a good one as a first time bargello? The pattern calls itself easy. But I don't know?

Do you think I should go with a different pattern first?
Please let me know what you think.
Old 12-06-2010, 08:05 AM
Power Poster

I've never done that one before but like all bargellos I'm sure you just have to place your strips right. I'm sure you will do just fine. Jump right in.
Old 12-06-2010, 08:06 AM

I've done the Twisted Bargello (waiting to be quilted). It was so easy. This pattern looks just as easy. It's lots of strips. You can do it with no problem. :) :) :)
Old 12-06-2010, 08:14 AM

I have done many Bargello quilts. One of the key ingredients to success is staying organized !! Do make a color key , make a strip set and cut a strip and mark each color in the strip with the correct number as it corresponds in the pattern. This is very important as you start the quilt. As you progress the pattern and colors will be come more apparent.
The second ingredient is take your time. It is a bit of a diffenrent process and will take some time getting your brain adjusted. One your brain is "re-trained" there is no stopping your level you are willing to take on. I continue to look for more an more "chanllenging" patterns.
I use a bulletin board to keep my strip sets and partial strips sets organized. I found this to be the most effective way to stay organized.
I wish you luck and know you will be hooked on Bargello.
Old 12-06-2010, 08:50 AM