Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need help with Janome 1600DPX >

Need help with Janome 1600DPX

Need help with Janome 1600DPX

Old 05-13-2013, 05:33 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
fayzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Destin, Fl
Posts: 1,878
Unhappy Need help with Janome 1600DPX

This machine is new to me. Tonight I broke a needle. I have all of the broken needle. Put new needle in the machine correctly, rethreaded the machine and reinserted the bobbin. Now the machine will not stitch period. I have searched my manual and the internernet to no avail. Does anyone have this machine and have any suggestions for me? I was piecing when the needle broke. I want to sew tonight really bad! I have to finish a gift.
fayzer is offline  
Old 05-13-2013, 07:01 PM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 16,836
Default

If you haven't done so, turn the machine off, and leave it for awhile.
Then turn it back on.
It might re-set itself. Or perhaps you will get an error code.
And things may be no different.

If you still have problems, call your dealer and ask if they have any suggestions.

Could be that the break, upset the timing and you will need to take it for servicing.
QuiltE is offline  
Old 05-13-2013, 08:02 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 7,611
Default

I agree, if you broke the needle it's entirely possible the timing was thrown off.

Does that machine take round needles? I have a Janome 1600P DB and it uses round needles - meaning the top of the needle is round, it doesn't have a flat side.
Peckish is offline  
Old 05-13-2013, 08:07 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chula Vista CA
Posts: 6,922
Default

I would certainly try turning off the machine, remove the needle, check the book to make sure the needle is put in correctly and then turn it on again.
quiltingcandy is offline  
Old 05-14-2013, 04:22 AM
  #5  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,235
Default

It sounds like the needle is not in correctly. Read the manual to double check, take the needle out and put it back in. Also, make sure that it is inserted all the way up in the shaft.
PaperPrincess is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 11:47 AM
  #6  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
fayzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Destin, Fl
Posts: 1,878
Default

I'm having cataract surgery tomorrow. I think that is half of my problem. Thanks to all of your replies. It is sewing correctly now.
fayzer is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Carol in Colorado
Main
3
05-10-2012 05:16 AM
connie d
Main
14
08-02-2011 01:14 AM
KimS
Main
2
06-27-2011 09:33 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.