Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
need ideas for a wedding quilt >

need ideas for a wedding quilt

need ideas for a wedding quilt

Old 08-30-2013, 08:42 AM

Default need ideas for a wedding quilt

i'm stumped. my 29 yr.son and his 24 yr. girlfriend announced their engagement. lucky for me, the wedding isn't until 06/2015. My need: i can't decide what to make for a wedding quilt.
i'm an advanced beginner, ( check Fons & Porter, "under the sea"post). i'm leaning towards something with traditional piecework and some applique. Daughter in law is psychology major who works in the library at a art school and son, a butcher/science history & science geek, loves to fish and outdoors. she was this dainty little daddy's girl when they met. Came to first family camping trip wearing ballet flats and only stayed one day because she was on her period and couldn't take a bath. This year, she was there for 5 days and nothing phased her. Son is high functioning asperger's and she is a gift from God for him.
Help, i've thought of a basket quilt with appliqued flowers, something with a medallion center.
i needle turn applique, hand quilt and am okay with points and set in seams
Old 08-30-2013, 08:46 AM
Power Poster

Why not ask them what they would like??
... so they will be sure to love and appreciate it when they get it.
Old 08-30-2013, 09:28 AM

when both of my sons go married I made a big deal out of the brides ( my now daughter in laws) picking the pattern and the fabric and then Ok' samples- I think it was a great thing for starting off our relationship - and I know they both treasure the end produce
Old 08-30-2013, 02:46 PM

Good suggestions from QuiltE and bdsmith. I agree. Get input from the couple about fabrics and/or the pattern and that should do it. :-) Congrats on a DIL who is good for your son. That is such a blessing!
Old 08-30-2013, 05:10 PM