Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need info on a Judy Niemeyer pattern >

Need info on a Judy Niemeyer pattern

Need info on a Judy Niemeyer pattern

Old 12-18-2011, 02:29 PM
Power Poster

Default Need info on a Judy Niemeyer pattern

Does anyone know the skill level for a Judy Niemeyer paper-pieced pattern called "Agave Garden"? It's comes with pre-printed foundation paper. I found it on sale for $18.75 but don't want to waste my money if it's too hard. I've done foundation pieced before but not paper-pieced.
Old 12-18-2011, 03:49 PM
Power Poster

That's a lovely pattern. My guess is that it's not too hard since it doesn't involve any curved piecing. Some of her patterns also have lots of applique, and this one doesn't. Nothing ventured nothing gained - go for it.
Old 12-18-2011, 03:51 PM
Power Poster

I'd say go for it! Just read through the directions, and take your time. You will enjoy the finished results!
Old 12-18-2011, 04:41 PM

I am fairly new to the quilting game but I think foundation piecing is a form of paperpiecing. And her patterns look like foundation piecing to me. Sounds like a good price for a fun project. Good luck.
Old 12-18-2011, 05:03 PM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by iwillquilt View Post
I am fairly new to the quilting game but I think foundation piecing is a form of paperpiecing. And her patterns look like foundation piecing to me. Sounds like a good price for a fun project. Good luck.
It's actually just the opposite - paper piecing is a form of foundation piecing. In this case, paper is the foundation. Fabric (often muslin) can also be used as a foundation.
Old 12-18-2011, 05:56 PM

I just Love paper piecing. I have not done that particular pattern, but I would try if I had the pattern. I will try and help you out if you PM me with questions. No problem. Grace
Old 12-18-2011, 06:29 PM
Banned