Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
new to appliqué ... >

new to appliqué ...

new to appliqué ...

Old 02-23-2015, 02:03 PM

Default new to appliqué ...

I am new to appliqué and have watched some tutorial on using light weight fusible interfacing.. what I was wondering after you have the appliqué ironed on the quilt and stitched around the appliqué, do you quilt over it as you finish the quilt? or go around it...Thanks
Old 02-23-2015, 02:10 PM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by quiltlady1941 View Post
I am new to appliqué and have watched some tutorial on using light weight fusible interfacing.. what I was wondering after you have the appliqué ironed on the quilt and stitched around the appliqué, do you quilt over it as you finish the quilt? or go around it...Thanks
I often machine quilt over it, add details to flowers, veins in leaves etc. Not sure about hand quilting thru it. Someone should chime in with that info.
Old 02-23-2015, 02:25 PM

on the appliqués quilts I have made, I didn't stitch on the appliqué just around it. If you see it needs to be secured, I would think of adding details to the inside of the applique. But then, I am talking about hand quilting. I have little experience combining machine quilting and applique.
Old 02-23-2015, 02:36 PM
Power Poster

If I use fusible, I usually do a buttonhole stitch on my Bernina proportional with the size of the applique.
Old 02-23-2015, 03:22 PM

thanks everyone for your good advice, I'll try some of these thing out and see which looks the best...Thanks
Old 02-23-2015, 04:13 PM

I did a tablerunner with applique santa's on it. I fused them on, then did a Buttonhole St. by hand around them. When the lady quilted it she did not quilt on them. (longarm) They poofed way up, and I don't like the look at all, and they don't lay flat either!! Next time I will ask her to quilt something on the appliques.
Old 02-23-2015, 08:08 PM