Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: No frame/no hoop ??????

No frame/no hoop ??????

I'm fairly new to hand quilting and I can't seem to get the hang of using a round hoop or any kind of frame. When I sandwich the quilt, I pin, pin, pin making sure everything is tight and smooth. Then I basically use a small frame to keep the quilt from falling on the floor and keeping it directly off my lap and quilt in my lap. Any one else do that and is it easier for you than quilting on a frame?

Absolutely IS easier for me..my hoop is about 18-20"--round...and I hoop the center first. I love to sit in a recliner or rocking chair with armrests--one side of the hoop rests on an armrest (right for me) and my left hand is under the hoop guiding my needle. It is soooo easy for me that I would never choose any other way--and I prefer my round hoop to my oval, even tho it has a stand. I just toss the quilt onto the bed, take the hoop off and move it to the next area. I hand baste my layers loosely and the sandwich stays together well enough to smoothe into the hoop at each change. It is just whatever you can get accustomed to that works best for you.

Oh, and I meant to add that I have done Q & K size quilts this way, and that I love having the quilt hanging down over my legs in the winter....keeps me cozy warm, and I'm about to start another right after the holidays! It's wintertime here.

With a red face I am admitting I don't use a frame or hoop usually with my small quilts. I get 8 or 9 stitches to an inch so it works for me.
    Linda Lee

"Be the change you want to see in the world." - Mahatma Gandhi