Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Not good enough for a LA >

Not good enough for a LA

Not good enough for a LA

Old 11-13-2010, 11:25 AM

Being new to quilting I know I am far from perfect. Most of my quilt tops are pretty easy. They do turn out kinda nice if I do say so myself :lol: I really like the quilting done by a LA. I just do the basic quilting on mine. I have yet to send out a top to be done. This is my thinking on it. Being new I'm afraid the person doing the quilting will look at my work and just rip it apart. Yes, it is just basic piecing but I'm still learning. If the top isn't perfectly square, or if my fabrics are not up to par, or my stitches are not perfect. I know it shouldn't bother me because you have to start somewhere. I'm just getting tired of the same old quilting. FM is out of the question right now. :shock: I'm thinking I'm going to be one of those quilters who does the tops and never finishes the sandwich. I will say I am great at buying everything you might need for quilting. That's the easy part.

Anyone have a LA that just refused to quilt your top?
Old 11-13-2010, 11:42 AM
Power Poster

Find a LA quilter and go talk to him or her. Show them your work and see if they will work with you. If you can't find anyone close there are quilters on the Board that will be able to help you. Don't let your fear that you aren't good enough be a barrier. This is your work of art and passion. Enjoy no matter what you think others might "think". Go for it!!:)
Old 11-13-2010, 11:46 AM
Banned

As a professional longarmer, I can't imagine someone refusing your top, unless it was simply impossible to quilt... and that would be pretty rare.

I've turned down an antique top before, because I felt that it needed to be handled with more care than I could give it on a frame, without possibly tearing the quilt.