Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Okay no retard comments

I like doing appliques, I always do them by hand, and I like to use some low loft batting under them, to give them the raised puffy look... I just happend to read some where about fusable webbing, which I have never used before, or even heard of..so I bought a yard of it, to give it a try....How in the world do I use it?? LOL there are no instructions or anything...

I can't help you, but I'm looking forward to the responses you get and then we'll both know :wink:

Thanks Mrs Theo :)
    I think you just lay it down on fabric, cut out your applique, lay it on the webbing, and then press them together...anyone Im hoping it is that easy lol

You trace the pattern on the paper side(not the rough side)
    cut it out and fuse it (Iron it )to the WRONG side of the fabric you are useing as your applique. let it cool a little and peel off the fusing paper and now you can iron this to your base fabric or background fabric. Hope this was helpful, can't imagine it did not have instructions with it, But we have all been there, so please dont feel that it was a silly question.

Blog Entries
    There are different kinds of fusible. They have a paper backing that you draw the shape of your applique on. You trim a little outside the lines and iron it to the fabric. Cut on the lines and apply it where you want on the background fabric, then press. I prefer Lite Steam-a-seam 2. It has 2 pieces of paper, will temporarily adhere and is re-positionable prior to ironing. If you go to Pellon's site, I think they show and example of how each works.