Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 61

Thread: Opinion needed-Don-isewman

  1. #1
    Senior Member isewman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Muscatine, Iowa
    Posts
    728
    Blog Entries
    1

    Opinion needed-Don-isewman

    I'm curious, and need opinions. I've got 4 blocks made. Its called Space Camp, but will change the name of this for me, later on. In the magazine, it only used 3 colors. My version is, I'm useing every scrap, I can get my hands on(ha-ha). I'm going to call is scraps galore. Or if anyone has a name for my out of control blocks, I'll consider your name/quilt, also Do I want to use sashing strips between the blogs, or sew the blocks all together. In away, I feel it will be to busy, but thats just my opinion. Take care everyone. Don-isewmanName:  001.JPG
Views: 2759
Size:  193.0 KBThe 1st picture is roughly a imaginary(sp) sashing.Name:  002.JPG
Views: 2734
Size:  204.2 KBThe 2nd picture is of the 4 blocks sewed together. Every block are of different colored pieces

  2. #2
    Super Member ruthrings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    1,153
    I personally like the secondary pattern formed by joining the blocks in the second picture. I think the white avoids the busy-ness problem.
    Ruth

  3. #3
    Senior Member FabStripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    805
    I tried finding the original picture of the quilt to see what it looks like in the magazine but can't find anything that looks like your block.

  4. #4
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,383
    Don , I like them both ways , but the second one is interesting because of the secondary design element. AS far as A name .. maybe "cover me in scraps", or "just the scraps"!

  5. #5
    Super Member Daylesewblessed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    2,075
    I like the one without sashing also. It kind of looks like it is set "on point."

    You have a beautiful mix of colors in your scrap selection!

  6. #6
    Senior Member cavmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    830
    I like it without the sashing. Since you mentioned it, why don't you call it "out of control"?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    821
    I like picture 2 for the secondary design.
    Marilyn

  8. #8
    Super Member jbj137's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Duncan, SC, 29334 USA
    Posts
    4,567
    Blog Entries
    2
    ***
    *** #2 does it for me.
    ***
    J J (jbj137)

    I am a G.R.I.T.
    G = girl R =raised I = in T = the S = South

  9. #9
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    22,827
    I like #2 - but maybe with the blocks somewhat controlled -alternate blocks with "light" outer pieces with blocks with "darker" outer pieces

  10. #10
    Super Member GailG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    6,762
    I suppose it is all a matter of taste and your intention. If you want the individual blocks to be highlighted because of their uniqueness, then use sashing. If you want that really scrappy look, join without sashing. I like the second picture.
    One step at a time, always forward.

  11. #11
    Senior Member Windblown's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Windy NE Oregon
    Posts
    533
    photo two.. As for a name how about Star Spirals.
    Kasey 1937 221-1 Featherweight, Red Eye Singer Treadle 66-1, 2 301's both long and short bed, 403, Free Number 5 Treadle, Jones hand crank Kenmore 158 19131, Viking Lilly 555

  12. #12
    Senior Member FabStripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    805
    I like the second picture and like the name out of control or out of space.

  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    dallas tx.
    Posts
    5,141
    Blog Entries
    3
    I like number 2. I like your colors too. Barny

  14. #14
    Super Member redquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    8,879
    I think it looks more cohesive without the sashing. With sashing it just looks like some blocks floating around. The secondary pattern made in the second photo is very interesting and pleasing to the eye. As someone mentioned - a good name would be "out of control". You already said that so maybe you should go with it.

  15. #15
    Power Poster lynnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    24,530
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like it without the borders, it forms a secondary design that I think is cool.
    put off till tomorrow what you can do today, and if you procrastinate long enough, you may never have to do it.

  16. #16
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    home again, after 27 yrs!
    Posts
    18,948
    Blog Entries
    2
    since it's scrappy, i prefer the sashing used. but that's just me.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    485
    #2 is my favorite

  18. #18
    Super Member Cybrarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay Area, Florida
    Posts
    2,224
    Adding my vote for #2, looks great Don!
    “Come to me all you who are weary and I will give you rest”~Jesus

  19. #19
    Super Member sewbeadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    4,008
    I like the sashing, it really sets the blocks off.
    Sewbeadit
    W. Washington

  20. #20
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    49,083
    Blog Entries
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by nativetexan View Post
    since it's scrappy, i prefer the sashing used. but that's just me.
    i'm with nativetexan
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T – is it True? H – is it Helpful? I – is it Inspiring? N – is it Necessary? K – is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  21. #21
    Senior Member Reba'squilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    South East Michigan...at the bottom of the thumb!
    Posts
    727
    I like the second picture. The first one has too much plainness ( goofy word choice, but fits) I like the scrappy look of your blocks.

  22. #22
    Senior Member supergma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sulphur Springs, Tx.
    Posts
    877
    Do, I love your scraps galore blocks. I like the layout with no sashing.

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Normal, IL
    Posts
    561
    I think it looks better without the sashing because of the secondary design. But it is your quilt do what you want.

  24. #24
    Super Member Quiltngolfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,419
    I like it with the smashing better. Nice blocks!

  25. #25
    Power Poster ManiacQuilter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    18,937
    I think it is cool using up your scraps especially if you have as many as I do!! I prefer a narrow sashing just in case your blocks don't line up to the next block. Keep up the excellent quilting!
    A Good Friend, like an old quilt, is both a Treasure and a Comfort

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.