Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 60

Thread: Opinion, please

  1. #1
    Super Member PurplePassion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southern MN
    Posts
    2,621

    Opinion, please

    I was going to use this beautiful fabric with turtles for a baby quilt for a boy. But when picking other colors to go with it, I noticed alot of pinks in it. They are brite and varigated. But not sure if it would be ok for boys. What do you think? Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by PurplePassion; 03-14-2013 at 06:37 AM.

  2. #2
    Power Poster gabeway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    10,488
    As long as pink was not the primary it would be fine. It also has blues purples yellows which would all go with it making it more masculine.
    Wayne & Gabriele, the married quilters.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    72
    ummm, well it is pretty vibrant and has some pink in there; but in my opinion it can be used as a universal quilt since the background is green and there is some blue in there; I think it will turn out quite nice!

  4. #4
    Super Member Nanny's dollface's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    1,197
    I think you will be fine, as long as other colors are used with this pattern such as reds, yellows, blues, purples or the background green. It will be a colorful and cheery quilt. Keep us posted.

  5. #5
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    29,681
    That fabric would be an excellent choice for both girls and boys depending on what colours you added. I would pair it with that turquoise blue for a boy? Hot pink would go well for a girl.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    83
    I think it would be okay for a boy.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,041
    I would use blue/red.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Sarah in Brooklyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    409
    I think it's fine. Those pink/blue conventions are not as strong as they used to be.

  9. #9
    Super Member PurplePassion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southern MN
    Posts
    2,621
    Ok, I have been anxious to use this , it is so beautiful. I will post a pic when done.

  10. #10
    Super Member azwendyg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Posts
    2,079
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think this fabric would be just great for a boy; bright, cheerful and happy! And when I look at this fabric, I'd have to say "it's green" because of the background.
    Wendy

  11. #11
    Super Member Quilty-Louise's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    3,499
    Blog Entries
    1
    My opinion yes I think it would be ok for a boy.

    Down play the pink and bring out more of the blue, red, & yellow.

    This is just my opinion, but I like what the others have said.
    Louise - Ya-ya to Zachary April 13 2015. I collect mugs from the U.S. and around the world. Also collect handmade pincushions, sewing/quilting themed fabrics, and fabric in general.

  12. #12
    Super Member ArtsyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Canadian in Minnesota
    Posts
    2,111
    Cute fabric! I would just add borders picking up the blue and turquoise and it will change the entire vibe to "boy".
    A fabric stash is always missing that one fabric needed to finish the quilt on which you're working.

  13. #13
    Super Member lpsewing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Reading,Pa
    Posts
    2,044
    I vote perfect for a boy quilt ! What boy doesn't love a turtle ?
    Pick up the blue as an accent color,I think it will be lovely when finished.
    Keep us all posted,please.
    lp

  14. #14
    Super Member CorgiNole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Posts
    1,078
    Certainly good for a boy. I would chose blues, greens, yellows as your accent colors.

    Cheers, K

  15. #15
    Super Member AliKat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,890
    I would think it would depend on the size of the baby quilt. Many kids keep theirs, if the quilt survives long enough. Once boys get a bit older anything with pink in it is taboo.
    Have fun quilting! If it isn't fun, you will miss a lot.
    ali

  16. #16
    Super Member newbee3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,857
    Blog Entries
    2
    bqbies love bright colors I really think he would enjoy it

  17. #17
    Super Member redquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    7,924
    I agree with everyone. It's fine for a boy as long as you don't add any more pink. Go with the blue, red and yellow turtles!

  18. #18
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    I know my DD and SIL did not want any pink at all in my grandson's baby items. Really it's up to what the parents like when it comes to babies.
    Got fabric?

  19. #19
    Super Member Luv Quilts and Cats's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,708
    I think it would work for a boys quilt.
    Luv Quilts and Cats
    Never underestimate the healing effects of beauty. - Florence Nightingale

  20. #20
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    9,469
    Blog Entries
    31
    Where is the law written that there can't be pink in a quilt made for a boy. This turtle fabric is perfect for a little boy. If you don't add any more pink to the quilt it will disappear. There are so many colors moving around on this fabric it won't be noticed at all if you don't point it out. Add lots of other colors. It is wonderful. peace EDIT: Would you not make it for a girl because there is blue in it? peace
    Last edited by ube quilting; 03-14-2013 at 02:44 PM.
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  21. #21
    Super Member PurplePassion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southern MN
    Posts
    2,621
    Ube , yes I would make it for a girl and add brite pink. I love it.I think some boys and men look good in a purple or pink shirt. I am just trying to convince my grandson.

  22. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    169
    I think it is ok for boys too. it is like looking into a box of crayons.

  23. #23
    Super Member GrannieAnnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    S. W. Indiana
    Posts
    7,524
    You've got a couple values of blue and of course the green adn plenty of red. Even black and gold
    Bad Spellers of the World
    U N T I E

  24. #24
    Super Member LynnVT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    1,336
    Why not ask the mom? I think it's better to make what she likes, rather than try to surprise her. Some people might be hung up on the little pink bits, while others might not mind at all. I agree that the other fabrics in the quilt would set the tone. It's so cute!

  25. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Richmond, VA.
    Posts
    355
    It's cute fabric and could be for both a boy or a girl. If you're not really feeling this fabric, look at the northcott stonehenge undersea. No pinks or purples, but lots of orange, green and yellow colors just like your turtles.

    They also have a cute whimsical dino roar fabric with carton dinos and it does have purple in it. Dinos can be both boy or a girl, but to me just scream, boy.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.