Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 66

Thread: opinions on adding a bit of yellow to this design?

  1. #1
    Senior Member cat-on-a-mac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SW Florida
    Posts
    878
    Blog Entries
    2

    opinions on adding a bit of yellow to this design?

    I'm trying to do a baby quilt design using pineapple blocks, and have come up with this pattern. Somewhere (probably on QB!) I remember somebody saying you should always have a little bit of yellow in a quilt. I'm sure I don't agree with that statement, but I thought it might not be a bad idea for this quilt. What do you think? Yellow pineapple centers or not?

    Name:  withWhite.jpg
Views: 3042
Size:  182.9 KB Name:  withYello.jpg
Views: 3036
Size:  182.8 KB
    Cathy

  2. #2
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,450
    Blog Entries
    20
    They both look awesome, but if I were totally honest I prefer the quilt without the yellow. It is just a personal preference, I don't have any other reason.
    Sadiemae

  3. #3
    Senior Member cat-on-a-mac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SW Florida
    Posts
    878
    Blog Entries
    2
    Oops! I just noticed the yellow version is missing one yellow center!
    Cathy

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    291
    Personally I would change the gold/orange to the yellow color you have used in the 2nd example. For a baby quilt I just like soft colors but it is just my personal preference. If anything I would put green in the center top of the pineapple.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alturas, CA
    Posts
    8,444
    I love it with yellow.

  6. #6
    Super Member Cybrarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay Area, Florida
    Posts
    2,172
    I think the addition of the yellow adds a 3rd design element, without is a great design too.
    Come to Me and I will give you rest--Jesus.

  7. #7
    Super Member annt59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Kissimmee, FL
    Posts
    1,130
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the yellow. It looks very playful!
    Boom 12 - Short & Sweet

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Englewood, CO
    Posts
    530
    I really like the addition of the yellow. Wakes it up a little bit.

  9. #9
    Super Member irishrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cadillac, MI
    Posts
    6,579
    Blog Entries
    19
    Every life needs some sunshine. Use the yellow, please.

  10. #10
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lake Elsinore, CA
    Posts
    12,580
    Absolutely! Love the yellow. I even like the idea of one center being "different".

  11. #11
    Super Member Maureen NJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Morris Plains, NJ
    Posts
    1,299
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the lighter yellow and would use that in the first example in place of the gold. Very nice design. Is it done on the EQ 7?

  12. #12
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    43,745
    Blog Entries
    45
    i like them both, but i think i prefer the white centers
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  13. #13
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,469
    Blog Entries
    2
    I think the yellow centers make the design glow!
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  14. #14
    Junior Member Carrie in PA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa
    Posts
    127
    I must be the odd one. I like it with the white. If i was going to change the color of the centers then i would add a different color all together. Either black or something else that's dark and heavy.
    "A creative mess is better than tidy idleness"

  15. #15
    Senior Member cat-on-a-mac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SW Florida
    Posts
    878
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Maureen NJ View Post
    I like the lighter yellow and would use that in the first example in place of the gold. Very nice design. Is it done on the EQ 7?
    Yes it was. I recently got the MAC version.
    Cathy

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    329
    I really like the yellow!

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Southern Illinois
    Posts
    302
    I lilke the yellow very much. It just seems to put a finishing touch on a already pretty quilt.
    Families are like quilts, lives pieced together, stitched with smiles and tears, colored with memory and bound by love.

  18. #18
    Super Member Dina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,093
    Quote Originally Posted by cat-on-a-mac View Post
    Yes it was. I recently got the MAC version.
    How do you like the MAC version? Had you any experience with EQ 7 before? I really am interested in buying it, but I have been told it was complicated and I might not enjoy trying to learn all about it.

    I like your quilt both ways, with the yellow and white....so no help from me there. Sorry. How neat that you can compare the two so easily though!!

    Dina

  19. #19
    Power Poster ManiacQuilter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    18,944
    I would substitute the gold for a pastel yellow since the other colors are also pastel. I would avoid a screaming yellow. Just my opinion. Good Luck, lots of cutting with a pineapple quilt.
    A Good Friend, like an old quilt, is both a Treasure and a Comfort

  20. #20
    Super Member irishrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cadillac, MI
    Posts
    6,579
    Blog Entries
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by ManiacQuilter2 View Post
    I would substitute the gold for a pastel yellow since the other colors are also pastel. I would avoid a screaming yellow. Just my opinion. Good Luck, lots of cutting with a pineapple quilt.
    I like this idea, then you can used the more intense color for the centers.

  21. #21
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    The Colony, TX
    Posts
    3,364
    I love the yellow. If you wanted to change the orange/gold (as suggested to yellow) you could make the centers something that has all or most of the colors. Do what pleases you. Personally I love yellow in quilts but know that I am not in the majority.

  22. #22
    Senior Member Pagzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    496
    I wouldn't make the final decision until I had all the fabrics selected.

  23. #23
    Super Member Gladys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    3,621
    I like the yellow. It looks brighter and more cheerful with it.

  24. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    184
    Blog Entries
    6
    I like the yellow! With the yellow I get a really colorful lattice type design overplayed on the background. Without it I get floating candies, so the yellow gives better contrast and makes the colored part feel more uniform

  25. #25
    Super Member NIICHMOM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northeast Iowa
    Posts
    1,402
    If it is for a baby blanket take out the orange and use the Yellow, it makes a softer look ... If for an older person go for the orange and yellow...It makes for a bigger statement for a bigger quilt

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.