Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 84

Thread: Opinions on cutting table ( pic. shown)

  1. #1
    liblueeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    155
    Hi,
    I am thinking of getting this cutting table at the Black Friday Joann's sale. Does anyone have one of these and do you have likes or dislikes about it. I need something I can fold up - which it does. Best part is it is standing height to cut.
    Any help would be appreciated!
    Thanks,
    Liblueeyes

    Cutting table
    Name:  Attachment-55636.jpe
Views: 83
Size:  33.5 KB

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alturas, CA
    Posts
    8,494
    One of the first things to consider I think would not necessarily be the size of the table, that is important of course, but the height I think would be the most important, since if it's too low, your back is going to be killing you and you won't use it. I've seen these tables set up and for me, they are much too low. I've read that a cutting table should be no lower or higher than 3 inches below your elbow.

  3. #3
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,088
    Blog Entries
    1
    Tis table is on my wish list :D :D :D

  4. #4
    Super Member mary quite contrary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    2,540
    I have this table and love it.

  5. #5
    liblueeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    155
    Quote Originally Posted by mary quite contrary
    I have this table and love it.
    Is it more than table height? I now have a large table to cut on ... reg height. Folding is a plus... but not if I have to bend way over??? I know it comes in a box to assemble - just making sure it is absolutely what I think it is !! Thanks for your opinion and help!

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Acworth, GA
    Posts
    3
    Hello, I have been reading this board for several years. Finally set up an account about a month ago. I usually read on breaks at work. I have had this table for about 3 years and love it. I am about 5'6" and don't really have to bend to cut. I love my table.

    I hope to be able to be more active on this board in the future. I have been quilting for about 4 years, and still do not have a quilt of my own. I make baby quilts and quilts for family members. I have 3 tops finished for me, just not quilted.

    CozyQuilts

  7. #7
    Super Member lfw045's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Rustburg, VA (for the moment anyway)
    Posts
    1,696
    Quote Originally Posted by CozyQuilts
    Hello, I have been reading this board for several years. Finally set up an account about a month ago. I usually read on breaks at work. I have had this table for about 3 years and love it. I am about 5'6" and don't really have to bend to cut. I love my table.

    I hope to be able to be more active on this board in the future. I have been quilting for about 4 years, and still do not have a quilt of my own. I make baby quilts and quilts for family members. I have 3 tops finished for me, just not quilted.

    CozyQuilts
    Same here...love the table and I am also 5'6". The only difference is my table has the storage area in the middle.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    You will love the height - 36" is the same as my kitchen counters. I have a center island in my sewing room, with a large custom made counter top. I use a higher padded stool for sitting, since I like to keep moving between ironing board, cutting mat and machine. I can turn and slide off stool very easily. I think my spot is perfect!! The high stool is very kind to sore knees, vs. a traditional chair, whick I think is too low. I have no back or knee problems, which if you do have, this my not be as perfect.
    This is my first response to chat on line with anyone, anytime. Hope it works.... :lol: Vandee

  9. #9
    CRH
    CRH is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    406
    I have a similar table (mine just has one leg that swings out from underneath) from Joanns and really like it. It has several delicate parts. On mine the plastic clamp for the metal part when the leaf is extended is screwed into the particle board, and pulls out easily. Also the roller feet have plastic inserted into the metal legs, and one of these snapped off, so it does have its vulnerable parts. I have seen similar tables that have storage shelves underneath the middle part, that look more sturdy.

    Having said that, the convenience of such a large surface is well worth the price, especially the sale price you quoted, and the fold up feature for storage is great.

    I'm 5ft 5 in and the height is perfect for me.

    I love mine.

  10. #10
    Super Member bebe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    3,066
    I had this table kind of flimsey for me. I gave it away was not impressed. Just my opinion. Better off with a sturdy folding table or another table of another sort :wink:

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Texas Hill Country
    Posts
    71
    Adjust your height as necessary and buy the table! It is not heavy duty, but it does fold up and is nice enough--especially for the $$$$.

  12. #12
    Super Member alaskasunshine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    la la land
    Posts
    2,007
    I have it and I like it ok , well it is too tall to cut on. I do have all my projects on it though. I would not get again.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    phoenix,az
    Posts
    73
    I HAVE IT AND LOVE IT, NOT JUST FOR CUTTING BUT PINNING AND BASTING SMALLER QUILTS.

  14. #14
    liblueeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    155
    Thank you all for your opinions and advice. I think what i may have to do is go to the store see if the height is listed and see how excited I am about getting it. The table I am using now isn't great but I could keep using till I find just the right thing. I hate making purchases that you have to live with for a long time. :( Never sure what to do
    Welcome to all those who posted for the first time too...... I lurk more than post ...

  15. #15
    Super Member jljack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North Carolina - But otherwise, NOTW
    Posts
    8,073
    Blog Entries
    9
    Hi CozyQuilts....Welcome to a great place for quilters. All these people are so kind and supportive. Any quilter is welcome here.

  16. #16
    Super Member nursie76's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    North Central PA
    Posts
    5,633
    I have this table and love it. It is just the right height for me to cut, baste, lay out pieces to experiment and many other things. You do have to handle it carefully when moving it, you can't yank it around, which it tells you in the instructions, but I have had mine for a year and have used it alot. I do feel the regular price is high, but that sale price is a good bargain. I got mine from the discount section of my Joann's really cheap, because it has a small ding in the one edge. Hubby brought it home and repaired it so you can hardly see it and it doesn't interfere with the usefulness at all.

  17. #17
    Senior Member adriansmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Council Bluffs, IA
    Posts
    356
    My m om has this table and we both love it. It is about the same height as a counter. The only problem she has had is the part that pulls up got loose from her pushing down to cut fabric. She just re-enforced the under side so it doesn't push down when she is cutting. That was the only issue in about 5 years so I think thats good.

  18. #18
    Super Member Margie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Murrysville, PA
    Posts
    3,009
    If this is the table that folds up really small, I have had it for about 15 years....although, I bought it at Hancocks when they were still in PA :(. I have seen the exact same table at Joann's and I LOVE IT. Have never had a problem with it and would purchase it again in a heartbeat if I needed another one.

    Margie

    btw ...that is an excellent price too :)

  19. #19
    Senior Member Marguerite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    SF Bay Area, California
    Posts
    470
    I have this table and love it. I bought it many years ago and love it becasue it's the right height for me. No back pain leaning over. It's great for pinning small quilts too.

  20. #20
    Super Member mcdaniel023's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    3,603
    Blog Entries
    3
    I have this table and LOVE it. The height is perfect for me. I use it to cut, using my large cutting mat and to iron large pieces using a ironing mat.
    Both sides fold down, if you need to store it out of the way.

  21. #21
    Super Member carrieg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    S.W. Michigan
    Posts
    1,208
    I have this table and use it constantly in my sewing room. I always keep 1 of the leaves up. It appears to be about 3-4 inches taller than my sewing table, which is a kitchen table in its past life. DH reinforced the legs with a couple 'L' brackets. He felt it wasn't sturdy enough. I have had no problems with it. I like that it folds up small. I read somewhere that a lady used it as an extra buffet table for large dinners.

  22. #22
    Super Member Butterfli19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Seacoast New Hampshire
    Posts
    1,074
    I have it as well. It's not good if you need to bear down, but I bought it mainly for sandwiching quilts so I didn't have to kneel on the floor anymore. It's too high for me to cut on - I prefer to be directly over what I am cutting so I get a top view and not a slanted view.

    The quilts I make aren't huge so the size is fine. The table opens quite large but folds up and squeezes into a corner. The wheels do lock so that helps sturdy it a bit.

    Sometimes JoAnn's has one open. If not ask if they'll open one up for you.

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    fullerton ca
    Posts
    681
    yes i have one it lasted about 3yrs i enjoyed after a while the wheels came off
    i use it as a craft table now for the kids. i replaced it with a 4 by 7 oak cutting table an Amish man made for me its wonderful and it was moor than affordable he even put the cutting grove in

    i love it
    :)

  24. #24
    liblueeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    155
    Thank you all so much for all your advice........... I think the looking and seeing is going to be the key. I am moving my sewing from a bedroom to the living room. The oak table I use to iron and cut on will just be too big for the area. I don't want to feel cramped with that and the machine table. I am taking all your advice and going shopping on Black Friday.
    THANK YOU THANK YOU>>>>>>>>>>>>>> :D :D

  25. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    207
    Hi -
    I have this table and I really like it. The ends can be folded down when not in use. I was able to get it on sale too - it is a great table... The height is good because you are not bent over the work surface, and that means you are able to spend more time on your projects. Good Luck.

    Sue

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.