Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Opinions for a Quilter Newbie, which machine to recommend less than $200.00

  1. #1
    Senior Member littlebitoheaven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Illinois/Wisconsin
    Posts
    809
    Blog Entries
    1

    Opinions for a Quilter Newbie, which machine to recommend less than $200.00

    I want to suggest to my granddaughter, the name of a good starter quilting machine for less than $200.00. I have looked on Amazon (where she will order it) and am inclined to the Brother XR9500PRW (Project Runway). Would like your input. thank you.

  2. #2
    Senior Member pyffer3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Shubuta, Mississippi
    Posts
    464
    I bought the brother cs6000i after Christmas and have loved it. It looks similar to the one you have picked so far. I paid less than $150 for it and free shipping on Amazon. No problems at all. I have completed 7 quilts to date...but none of them have been really big, maybe 54 x 70 is the largest. I love the machine and it's features. Good luck

  3. #3
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,756
    Blog Entries
    1
    There is a nice Janome machine on ebay for about that price and it has 4.8 out of 5 stars. I would pick a Janome over a Brother, personally. I've had a brother (from walmart-so maybe it was a junky one) and hated it.

    http://www.amazon.com/Janome-2212-Se...eywords=janome

    also this one which has 4.6 out of 5 stars:
    http://www.amazon.com/Janome-2212-Se...eywords=janome

  4. #4
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,953
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have seen a lot of positive comments about the cs6000i on this board, and the reviews on Amazon are good too.

    Edit: I should add that the Janome gets great reviews here too.

  5. #5
    Member kookey426's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    central florida
    Posts
    69
    I also have the Brother cs6000i.....Love it! I have sewed everything from mug rugs to quilting a king size quilt on it! It just keeps humming away! I clean it well after every project! Good luck and welcome to wonderful world of quilting!! ENJOY!!!!!

  6. #6
    Super Member Pat625's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    North Pole
    Posts
    1,640
    I have a cheap Walmart Brother- been sewing on it for about 7 years now, without ever servicing it. I paid under $100 for it. I sometimes sew several hours a day usually, since it is my sanity saver since I have been out of work on disability.The only thing I have not done on it is quilt- I quilt by hand..But I am going to try that next when I can afford to buy the proper foot.

  7. #7
    Power Poster feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    10,187
    What about finding a nice vintage machine on Craig's list?

  8. #8
    Junior Member narnianquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    270
    I have a Project Runway and it works great!

  9. #9
    Super Member MacThayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    1,106
    I say, go with your gut instincts on this one. Most of the time, the Brother is an excellent machine. I had a bad experience with one -- it died at 7 months of age. Repair would have cost me more than I paid for it. But here's the good part. That Brother was a cheap machine (relatively speaking - about $200), and on it I refreshed my sewing skills and started quilting. What I learned is that I love, love, love to quilt! By the time it died, I had already learned so much, and one of them was about what kind of sewing machine I really wanted. I found it on Craig's list, and never looked back. It's a Janome MC9700. Just love it.

    So my point is, let her learn on a cheap machine. I'll bet the problems I had are pretty rare; it wasn't my first Brother, and I bought it because I'd loved the other one I had. Give her time to learn what kind of sewing she really wants to do, and she could get years and years of sewing out of the machine. On the other hand, if she discovers she doesn't like sewing/quilting that much, her investment in a machine won't be a financial bust.
    MacThayer

  10. #10
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    48,483
    Blog Entries
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by pyffer3 View Post
    I bought the brother cs6000i after Christmas and have loved it. It looks similar to the one you have picked so far. I paid less than $150 for it and free shipping on Amazon. No problems at all. I have completed 7 quilts to date...but none of them have been really big, maybe 54 x 70 is the largest. I love the machine and it's features. Good luck
    i got this one, too, but at walmart. i really love it for an inexpensive lightweight machine
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  11. #11
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    6,076
    Brother SQ-9050 from walmart, love mine
    Brother (XL-3500i, CV3550, SQ-9050, Dreamweaver XE6200D), Juki MO-2000QVP, Handiquilter Avante

  12. #12
    Senior Member littlebitoheaven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Illinois/Wisconsin
    Posts
    809
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thank you everyone for your input. It was very helpful to me. Can always count on our Board Members to help out in every situation. Yolanda Wood River

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.