Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Paint on fabric? >

Paint on fabric?

Paint on fabric?

Old 04-11-2023, 08:26 AM

Default Paint on fabric?

I've been sewing and quilting for many years, and have started to use paint on my art quilts. It's exciting because it's new, and can give effects I can't achieve with only fabric. Do any of you use paint on your quilts?
Old 04-11-2023, 04:57 PM

I have just purchased a 12 piece pkg of inktense pencils...ready to dabble!
Old 04-11-2023, 06:17 PM

I've used paint on fabric to make wearable art pieces. I was very happy with the result.
Old 04-11-2023, 08:11 PM

A little. I’m ready to explore more.

What is your next step.
Old 04-12-2023, 03:38 AM

I've had three seasonal banners for many years. Each are made from canvas with a Welcome Kitty, a Scarecrow and pumpkin, and the last being a Snowman, colors are starting to fade as these hang on the outside of the house. I'd love to give them a fresh touch up to last a few more years. I've heard there is an additive to add to craft paint for fabric, but haven't checked into it yet. Maybe this will remiind me to do so.
Old 04-12-2023, 03:48 AM

Yes, and it is so much fun. And I agree, it adds so much more to your fabric art.
Old 04-12-2023, 04:00 AM

I've used paint a bit. If you go to the Dharma Trading site, there is a lot of info there.
I especially like Lumiere paint. You can purchase sample kits that give you small bottles of a number of colours/finishes so you can test them out. These are specifically fabric paint.
You can also use acrylic paint, mixed with a fabric medium. If you are doing a wall hanging that is never going to be washed, you can get away without using a medium, but I find it makes the colours flow better. If it is going to be washed, the medium helps the paint heat set so it doesn't fade as much.
There are lots of videos on Youtube on how to get started. I especially like On Point TV/Quilting with Nancy for technique videos.