Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Panel Quilts

Panel Quilts

I have never used a panel in a quilt before. But I found this beautiful Peacock panel that I want to use for my sister's quilt I'm making her this year. The problem is, I need to make it into a king size.
    Any tips on how I can pull this off without pulling focus away from the panel?
    I have found a couple of really pretty quilts on Pinterest, but not sure how they would look as a king size.
    Name:  Peacock.jpg
Views: 1291
Size:  131.7 KB

Power Poster
    I might put the panel in the middle and use French Braid columns in the same peacock colours. French Braids kind of look like long feathers to me.

That would be awesome in Batik colors! Thanks for the idea!!

Look at "medallion" quilts for ideas. I love panels in quilts, but they do take some imagination to make them work in a large quilt.
    A quilt is like a good life. It's full of mistakes, but, in the end, it looks pretty good.

I'd put a black border around the panel to divide the panel from the borders. Then I would alternate plain and pieced borders drawing colors from the panel. Love the idea of batiks but Moda marbles have some awesome tone on tone blues too.
    QuiltnLady1

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

I'm wondering if the manufacturer makes that border print as yardage. If so, you could frame the peacock and use the fabric as succeeding borders alternating with the colors already there.
    A fabric stash is always missing that one fabric needed to finish the quilt on which you're working.

Power Poster
    Blog Entries