Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Pinning vs. Spray Basting

Pinning vs. Spray Basting

Hi,
    I am new to machine quilting, and am wondering if I should be using spray basting instead of pinning. I hate it when the quilt layers shift while I am quilting. For those of you that use the spray basting, do you spray all three layers? Does it wash out well?

I have used the spray basting for applique, and it does work well for that. Maybe the two should be used together? I am so interested to hear what y'all do! ~smile~
    Thank you,
    Roseanne

I thread baste with tatting thread and a herringbone stitch, as taught by Sharon Schamber in her board basting video, and there's no shifting.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bhwNylePFAA
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k_EjBGz5vGQ

Lisa

I'm not a spray baster and will leave those questions to others, but yes, if you hate pinning you should definitely try another basting method! Washable white glue is another popular way to baste - I've done that one, and for a while I liked it better than the pins. There's also hand basting and basting guns, the latter is the one I'm trying next. Just thought I'd throw out some more ideas in case you're interested.

I've always pinned. Afraid to try anything else, but there are folks who swear by the spray method, and love it.
    Life is not a movie. No one is going to yell "CUT" when you make a mistake. - Anne L. Fulton

I am from the South....39 miles south of Boston.

When I first started quilting I pinned and had problems with shifting fabric. I switched to spray basting (I use Sulky) and no more shifting fabric.

Blog Entries