Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Please HELP Designer I users Tension Trouble

  1. #1
    Senior Member familyfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Ohio
    Posts
    597
    My Terrific mom gave me her Designer I sewing machine I have been trying to do some practice stiches on it. She is not available right now and is still trying to locate the manual

    I have ironed a piece of med-weight stabilizer onto some muslin. Just trying the stippling and blanket stiches.
    I wound Coats & Clark all purpose thread on the H (green) bobbin. the thread says 37% cotton 63% poly
    I have cleaned the bobbin case, changed needles and still
    This is what my stiches look like
    If anyone can tell me How to change the tension I would surely appreciate it. Thank you all
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Member Vicki W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    2,064
    I dont' have a Designer I but this is what I do when I have tension trouble. I usually use a straight seam.

    Each time you make a run, write down which tension setting the machine was on, Look at it, evaluate the stitch, turn the setting one space, write down setting. make the run of stitches, look at it, evaluate.....is it getting better or worst. If work move the other direction. You will find the correct setting but it will take time.

  3. #3
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    11,159
    Blog Entries
    2
    This is the back, right? Looks like you need to increase your to tension a bit and slow down on curves. Having said that, I really think your issue is the selection of testing materials. The muslin is great but the iron on stabilizer ia going to make it too stiff. Before you start playing with tension, I would make a practice sandwich of top, batting, backing. I have not needed to change the tension for FMQ on my D1

  4. #4
    Senior Member familyfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Ohio
    Posts
    597
    Quote Originally Posted by PaperPrincess
    This is the back, right? Looks like you need to increase your to tension a bit and slow down on curves. Having said that, I really think your issue is the selection of testing materials. The muslin is great but the iron on stabilizer ia going to make it too stiff. Before you start playing with tension, I would make a practice sandwich of top, batting, backing. I have not needed to change the tension for FMQ on my D1
    The picture is the Front LOL... anyway.. this isnt free motion it is the stippling stitch on the machine. with the foot it said to use. The stabilizer is not stiff at all. Thank you

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    303
    I thought one of the features of the Designer 1 was to automatically set the tension based on the stitch, length of stitch, fabric, etc. It looks like the top tension is too tight, though, so I'd have to agree with PaperPrincess and say that if this is a quilting stitch, you might want to make a practice sandwich rather than using muslin with a stabilizer. It's worth a try!

  6. #6
    Senior Member familyfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Ohio
    Posts
    597
    Thank you for the advice.. I have it fixed.. I put the bobbin back in and this time I actually but it thru the tension lever.... DUH ... New machines.. Ugh. I feel like an idiot.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    303
    Quote Originally Posted by familyfun
    Thank you for the advice.. I have it fixed.. I put the bobbin back in and this time I actually but it thru the tension lever.... DUH ... New machines.. Ugh. I feel like an idiot.
    That's too funny! I never thought about that, but I should have - my mother did the same thing on a borrowed machine a couple of months ago!

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    256
    Yes you CAN change tension on the Designer I!
    Go to the "set" menue at the top of the screen.
    Adjust tension by adding or subtracting. It will reset back to the standard setting when you turn the power off.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.