Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
PLEASE PLEASE HELP!!!! Juki TL98Q owners >

PLEASE PLEASE HELP!!!! Juki TL98Q owners

PLEASE PLEASE HELP!!!! Juki TL98Q owners

Old 04-27-2010, 12:14 PM
  #1  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 16,568
Default

I'm having issues with this darn tension!! :evil: Can someone please help me get it corrected.

Ok the problem is I am quilting and it will quilt fine for about 2 inches and then all of the sudden it fouls up. :thumbdown:

This is how I have my machine set and the stitch legnth is 2 or 2-1/2 (still messes up no matter what stitch legnth). And this is what it is doing. The tension disks keep clicking then it messes up. I have read the book until I'm blue in the face and I'm almost in tears now! :cry:

Thanks in advance :D

front
attachment-12847.jpe

back
attachment-12848.jpe

setting
attachment-13214.jpe

bobbin
attachment-13215.jpe
sewnsewer2 is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 12:19 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
luv-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southeast Ohio
Posts: 2,584
Default

Have you checked the tenson on your bobbin???
Right is tight and left is loose. Just remember to move it a fraction at a time? Try that. Good Luck,
luv-e is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 12:22 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Rebecca VLQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,375
Default

See how the top thread seems loose though, with the loops on the back? Perhaps it's the top tension?

Do you have dust bunnies in the bobbin case?
Rebecca VLQ is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 12:29 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
twistedstitcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 993
Default

I think your top tension might be too tight. Also take out the bobbin case and clean it and the area under the machine where it goes. And take the needle plate off the top and clean out under that. It's amazing how a little lint can throw things off.
twistedstitcher is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 12:30 PM
  #5  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 20,307
Default

Sorry no help... but hope you can find some help soon !
Sorry you are having issues :cry:
sharon b is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 12:42 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pacific NW USA
Posts: 883
Default

When the thread loops on the bottom (on any machine), the TOP tension is too LOOSE.
AtHomeSewing is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 12:46 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
mgshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 3,075
Default

I dont have that machine but the tension adjustment should be about the same on any machine. Have you changed weights of thread or anything else? You might have to end up adjusting both top and bottom tension. Here is a link on how to check and adjust bobbin tension

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0bXrK...eature=related

Be sure and clean the bobbin area really well and check the bobbin case itsself, lint can get under the little clips or springs and really mess things up!!!!
mgshaw is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 05:03 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
hazeljane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 799
Default

Mine did this when I first got it. I went crazy. I did loosen the bobbin tension a quarter turn, and that helped. Then I took all the plates off and cleaned thoroughly, and oiled. Just before I got my machine, someone told me to remember three words: "Juki Loves Oil" and she really does. I got mine going again, and have not had the problem since.

Also, when I am FMQ, I set the stitch length to 0, because that's what the directions told me and I have not had any problems.
hazeljane is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 05:20 PM
  #9  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 9,589
Default

I am wondering if you have the thread hanging up somewhere... I know it's a pain, but I want you to unthread the machine completely...than take a thread and run it back and forth thru the tension a few times...you might have a small thread caught up in there. I also use both of the thread guide loops at the top of the machine, not just the one.
Have you recently changed brand of thread? Maybe the machine doesn't like this one?
Hope one of these helps.
Tink's Mom is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 05:37 PM
  #10  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 16,568
Default

Thanks so much ya'll!

I did clean it throughly and took the plate off, changed the needle, loosened the bobbin case a smidge, loosened the tension, tightened it you name it! Oiled it and did the whole nine yards.

The only thing I did not do was what you said Tink's mom, I will do that.

I was able to finish my project I was quilting finally :-) Good thing what I was working on was for me. :lol:
sewnsewer2 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Dollysquiltingmom
Main
6
07-28-2013 03:35 PM
bibiche
Main
19
11-16-2010 08:42 AM
Pinkrose4664
Main
11
04-09-2010 02:48 PM
Shibori
Main
4
02-21-2010 10:40 AM
trugger
Main
26
02-09-2009 08:20 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.