Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Pre-washing fabric question >

Pre-washing fabric question

Pre-washing fabric question

Old 09-06-2010, 09:50 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CindyinNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ogdensburg, NY
Posts: 448
Default

When you pre-wash fabric, should you add softener?
CindyinNY is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 10:00 AM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,375
Default

I read somewhere not to use fabric softener, but they did say why. Interesting question. I will be curious to see the replies.
Sadiemae is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 10:05 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CindyinNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ogdensburg, NY
Posts: 448
Default

Me too, Sadiemae. I have some in the washer right now. lol Guess I'll just have to stop it before it goes into the rinse cycle.
CindyinNY is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 10:29 AM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Western NY
Posts: 2,005
Default

I don't remember why, but I do know everything I've read says do not add softener.
magpie is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 10:38 AM
  #5  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 23,272
Default

From what I've heard, fusibles do not adhere well to fabric that has been "softened"

Some people are allergic to fabric softeners.
bearisgray is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 11:29 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
clem55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington,Kentucky
Posts: 6,163
Default

Softeners make it soft, so if we want to starch to make stiff for cutting, sort of a waste, ?????
clem55 is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 01:11 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,189
Default

Originally Posted by bearisgray
From what I've heard, fusibles do not adhere well to fabric that has been "softened"

Some people are allergic to fabric softeners.
Yep! But I always use softener because of the static.
CoyoteQuilts is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 04:20 PM
  #8  
np3
Power Poster
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 13,214
Default

Originally Posted by CoyoteQuilts
Originally Posted by bearisgray
From what I've heard, fusibles do not adhere well to fabric that has been "softened"

Some people are allergic to fabric softeners.
Yep! But I always use softener because of the static.
Good point, but then do you starch it before you cut it?
np3 is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 04:26 PM
  #9  
Super Member
 
Scissor Queen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southwest Kansas
Posts: 4,820
Default

Fabric softeners are fats. I only use fabric softeners on synthetic fabrics.
Scissor Queen is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 04:28 PM
  #10  
Super Member
 
wvdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: A million dollar view!
Posts: 8,830
Default

I never use softener until project is completely done then use it.
wvdek is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
bearisgray
Main
22
09-14-2012 02:26 PM
Rosie the "Ripper"
Main
9
02-17-2012 08:33 PM
Sister Sal
Main
5
06-03-2010 04:26 AM
GMarie
Main
18
06-09-2008 11:38 AM
mpeters1200
Main
9
05-30-2007 07:29 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.