Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Princess quilt - Border opinion please.....

  1. #1
    Senior Member bigredharley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    342

    Question Princess quilt - Border opinion please.....

    I thought I was going to do the border in licensed Disney Princess fabric, but now seeing the top without it, I think I need to do a small white border, then a 3 inch pink, and a 4 inch purple. Opinions please. Also, would you SITD or send it off to be long arm'd? I feel like I have a million hours in it, and it seems a shame to SITD, but can't picture what LA would do with it....

    Name:  princess quilt.jpg
Views: 568
Size:  53.6 KB
    Last edited by bigredharley; 08-18-2013 at 03:14 PM.
    ​Nancy

  2. #2
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    35,314
    Are the block centers embroidered? A longarmer would probably stitch around the edge of the embroidery and then stipple in the background? That is what I would do if I was quilting it myself on my sewing machine. I think a small white border and then the pink/purple would be lovely.

  3. #3
    Senior Member bigredharley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    342
    yes, each one embroidered and no two the same.
    ​Nancy

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Rapid City, SD
    Posts
    4,957
    You did a very nice job on your embroidery - that's a lot of work!! I like your idea for the borders also. I think you will need more quilting than just stitching in the ditch. Stippling the background of each square would work.

  5. #5
    Super Member QuiltnLady1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,542
    Lovely quilt!! There will be one happy little girl when she sees it!!

    I would outline the embroidery and then stipple around it. Before adding more pink and purple, I would give a place for the eyes to rest. A narrow border of white, then put the colored borders around it.
    QuiltnLady1

    When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

  6. #6
    Super Member IBQUILTIN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    North Fork Ca
    Posts
    8,253
    Adorable little quilt, and someone is going to be thrilled when presented with it. I like your border ideas

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    555
    Lovely little quilt. I concur with your thoughts on the border. There is going to be one happy little princess soon.

  8. #8
    Reb
    Reb is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    206
    If you are not condifident with stippling, and don't want to send it out, you could SID first. Echo once around the embroidered square 1/4" inside. Then echo around each block a few times. I think you would arrive at each block looking matted and framed. Can't tell from the pic how large the embroidered squares are. That would make a difference. Really beautifully done!

  9. #9
    Super Member orangeroom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,487
    Blog Entries
    1
    Nice quilt! I, too, like the idea of a white border, then adding a pink/purple border to tie it all in. Lucky girl is the one who receives this as a gift.
    Go forth and sew!

  10. #10
    Power Poster alikat110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waco, Texas
    Posts
    15,189
    Blog Entries
    9
    I would narrow border white, narrow border pink, wide disney, bind in purple. Send out for quilting....

    It is sew cute!!!

  11. #11
    Power Poster feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    10,161
    I would not use a print in the border, maybe for the backing you could use Disney princess fabric but for the front of this quilt stick with solids and let the embroidery be the big star.

    Here is an example of what I did on my LA with machine embroidered blocks like yours:
    Name:  Izzies quilt poodle princess.JPG
Views: 108
Size:  552.7 KB

  12. #12
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,358
    Quote Originally Posted by Tartan View Post
    Are the block centers embroidered? A longarmer would probably stitch around the edge of the embroidery and then stipple in the background? That is what I would do if I was quilting it myself on my sewing machine. I think a small white border and then the pink/purple would be lovely.
    I agree!!!!

  13. #13
    Senior Member bigredharley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    342
    I'm thinking since this will be a "loved" quilt for a little girl I'm going to SITD - maybe some fancy stitches in the "frames". Too much fancy work would (in my humble opinion) take away from the princesses and really highlight there are so many different sizes of them. Some of the "heads" are not much more than 1" squares where some are 4".

    Thanks for the opinions!!!
    ​Nancy

  14. #14
    Power Poster feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    10,161
    Quote Originally Posted by bigredharley View Post
    I'm thinking since this will be a "loved" quilt for a little girl I'm going to SITD - maybe some fancy stitches in the "frames". Too much fancy work would (in my humble opinion) take away from the princesses and really highlight there are so many different sizes of them. Some of the "heads" are not much more than 1" squares where some are 4".

    Thanks for the opinions!!!
    Just make sure you use a batting that will allow that much unquilted space. The packaging will tell you how far apart you can have unquilted. I think W&N is 10" If your blocks are 12" you will have to put some quilting inside the squares with the embroidery.

  15. #15
    Senior Member bigredharley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    342
    My blocks are 6" for the white part. I think I'll be ok with w&n. and just do something in the "frames". Great point though, I wasn't thinking about that at all!
    ​Nancy

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    547
    Blog Entries
    1
    Beautiful job!!! I love it! I'd go with a white border, but that's just me. I think it would make the white in the squares pop.....

  17. #17
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mechanicsville, IA
    Posts
    1,488
    You don't have to just stipple the background. There are lots of designs that can be used. And I like your idea for the borders being the plain fabrics. Let the embroidery shine.
    Cheryl Robinson
    http://www.silverneedlestitching.com
    APQS Millenium Longarm with Intelliquilter

  18. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8,037
    Wow ,you are so talented! What beautiful embroidery. I think the border needs a touch of black since you have a little black in almost every block. I would do something like narrow white, black, wide pink floral that has some yellow,black and white in it, and black binding.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.