Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Again another question about applique! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/again-another-question-about-applique-t203177.html)

mommabear62 10-14-2012 08:38 AM

Again another question about applique!

Ok ladies you can probably tell I am fairly new to quilting and to applique. I posted a question the other day about what type of applique you prefer. Freezer paper or fusible. The reply was about half and half. Now I am wondering, would you consider doing raw edge applique on a quilt block? The block is all applique and is flowers, leaves, stems etc. All responses greatly appreciated!

Scissor Queen 10-14-2012 08:41 AM

I would do fusible with a teeny blanket stitch in matching thread. Or If I wanted a more folk arty look I'd use all black thread.

Sunny580 10-14-2012 08:46 AM

I would never do fusible on ANYTHING! It's just your decision.

DogHouseMom 10-14-2012 08:46 AM

Absolutely!! I just finished a raw edge using a fusible - 12" block for a block swap. I love the way it turned out.

I used steam-a-seam lite fusible then sewed it down with a close zig-zag (not quite a satin stitch) using a clear poly thread. The end result was a nice clean edge. I did not go over with it a blanket stitch for a "homey" look ... but certainly could have.

I've also done a landscape quilt where the applique was layered on. I started with a base of muslin, then started tacking on different pieces of fabric to get my landscape - the fabric was first put on with a glue stick, then once I was happy I went around just the outside edges of the fabric pieces with a clear poly thread. No fusible was used. In this case I used a straight stitch to stitch the edges down - mostly because it was a wall hanging and because it was a landscape quilt - so the little bit of raw fray was part and parcel of the whole look.