Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Batiks....colors running (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/batiks-colors-running-t181852.html)

ShabbyTabby 03-06-2012 01:17 PM

Batiks....colors running

I have a stash of Batiks but have not quilted with them yet. Should I wash them first and if so how. I'd hate to make a quilt and have it ruined...any advice will be appreciated.

pinkberrykay 03-06-2012 01:25 PM

If you are worried about then running soak them in Retayne so they colors are set before you wash in cold water.

Rumbols 03-06-2012 01:27 PM

I am completely self taught so don't know if this is correct but it is the way I do my fabrics. I wash them the way I would wash the quilt. I lump all the same type of colors together and put a color catcher in to catch the excess dyes. Then I dry the same way, with the regular setting on my dryer. Been doing this for 35 plus years. Hope this helps.

joyce888 03-06-2012 01:30 PM

I rhink pinkberrykay gave you good advice. You can also use the "Color Catcher" sheets, found in the grocery store.

ckcowl 03-06-2012 01:32 PM

follow the instructions on a bottle of retayne---and throw in a couple 'color-catchers' from Shout- in the grocery store laundry isle. if the color catchers come out with color- rewash the fabrics- or sort out-figure out which one is the culprit & re-wash that one- rewash until there is no more bleeding before using in a quilt that will be laundered.