Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Best and easiest way o transfer a motif onto my quilt? A beginner!!! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/best-easiest-way-o-transfer-motif-onto-my-quilt-beginner-t304030.html)

suspendedglass 04-05-2019 02:58 PM

Best and easiest way o transfer a motif onto my quilt? A beginner!!!

I am a beginner wanting to learn how to do free form quilting. I learned the hard way by attempting to free motion quilt on a simple quilt I had made. Result- a lot of stitch ripping!!!

I am ready to start again , but I am wondering what the easiest way to transfer a simple motif onto my quilt to guide me.(using transfer paper, making a stencil and repeating it every inch? )What do you suggest is the best way to transfer the design onto the fabric?? (Using a chalk pencil, washable markers, marking pencils?)

Thanks for any insight as to what you might suggest!
Linda

meyert 04-05-2019 03:10 PM

I am going to be watching this because I wish I had a good way to do this as well. I hate that chalk wipes offs... I use stencils with crayola fine tip washable markers, but get so tired of marking :) the pounce is quick but wipes off and I had an experience where the blue pounce didn't wash completely out

I think my next attempt will be with crayola washable marks and stencils, but just mark smaller areas (instead of trying to mark the entire top at once) Hopefully I will have a little better time with that

NZquilter 04-05-2019 03:34 PM

Welcome to quilting! I use Crayola Ultra Washable markers, from Wal-Mart, and stencils. It does mean I have to mark pretty much the whole quilt, which can be a pain of work, but at least I know everything is the same size and uniform. For an organic style quilting I don't mark on the quilt, just practice like billi-o on a whiteboard, until my muscle memory is good enough.

Teen 04-05-2019 05:29 PM