Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Best iron? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/best-iron-t264890.html)

Jcarpentier 05-05-2015 05:44 PM

Best iron?

Hello all,

I am relatively new to quilting. I actually just picked it up again after about a 6 year hiatus. My question is what is the best iron to use that is not too expensive? I have an inexpensive Sunbeam iron that doesn't really take the wrinkles out of the fabric. I have heard there are quilters' irons and am wondering where to get one? Thanks!

kathdavis 05-05-2015 06:25 PM

I have two T-Fal irons and I love them. I keep one for my quilting and the family uses the other.

quilterpurpledog 05-05-2015 06:38 PM

I have had two Rowentas in the past and both of them leaked after a rather short period of time. I started to use a GE steam/dry iron that I got at BBB with a 20% off coupon. I have used it five or six years and it is just fine. I doubt that I will ever consider another expensive iron.

Jeanne S 05-05-2015 06:53 PM

I have the Rowenta ProMaster for 2 years now and love it. Tons of steam, a little on the heavy side. Heats up really quickly.

Cass62 05-05-2015 06:55 PM

I was lucky enough to find a Panasonic Cordless on sale for $38 and I absolutely love it!

Jcarpentier 05-06-2015 05:36 AM

Thanks everyone! I will be on the look out for a better iron!

JNCT14 05-06-2015 05:42 AM

Vermont Country Store dry iron. $30.00. Best iron I have ever had. They are out of stock right now but call and ask when they will have them - the iron is worth the wait!

Sewnoma 05-06-2015 05:45 AM

I have used one of the Panasonic cordless irons for about 2 years now and I'll never go back to corded! It's not perfect - it only heats up while sitting on its cradle so it can cool down on you if you don't put it down often enough. But that small drawback is totally worth not dealing with a cord anymore!