Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Can you show me what quilts look like that have fabric prewashed and not prewashed? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/can-you-show-me-what-quilts-look-like-have-fabric-prewashed-not-prewashed-t246254.html)

AngelinaMaria 05-04-2014 07:23 AM

Can you show me what quilts look like that have fabric prewashed and not prewashed?

I have been sewing away making quilt tops for 3 years now and the only completely finished quilts I have are ones that I did prewash the fabric and gave as gifts. Those didn't crinkle much but they were made of darker fabrics and the look is probably different on lighter fabrics.

All my other quilt tops which I am slowly starting to get quilted have not been prewashed (the fabric before piecing). I am wondering what they will look like after they are washed?? I read a post a few days ago and she was disappointed at how wrinkled the quilt ended up and she mentioned something about not prewashing the batting (I couldn't tell from her post if she had prewashed the fabric).

If you use a LAQ and they use batting off the roll, then you will never get prewashed batting. Would you purchase your own batting and prewash it before sending to the LAQ? I can't undo the quilt tops I already have finished but would like to understand the differences in looks before I proceed making tops without prewashing. Thanks for any help you can give me.

dunster 05-04-2014 07:44 AM

Cotton batting shrinks when washed, so any quilt made with it will get a puffy look, whether the top fabric has been prewashed or not. Poly batting does not shrink.

ckcowl 05-04-2014 07:46 AM