Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Do you iron your backing? OR...????? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/do-you-iron-your-backing-t205142.html)

#1piecemaker 11-05-2012 05:57 AM

Do you iron your backing? OR...?????

When I take my 108 inch backing fabric off the bolt to measure, it has creases where it has been folded and is often wrinkled in places. It is so large to try and iron. The girl that showed me how to load my quilt in the long arm frame told me to spray the backing with water and the creases and wrinkles will come out. What method do you use to get the wrinkles out or do you use the spray trick? I'm still a newbie at this long arming stuff. I'm a hand quilter and use my hoops to stretch the wrinkles out. Help!!!

gollytwo 11-05-2012 06:04 AM

I only iron my backs/linings when I'm surrounded by other quilters who won't stop yelling at me.
Perfectionists they, not I.
I assume the back being stretched on a frame will iron itself.
My LAQ has never compained and her work looks great - front and back.

Buckeye Rose 11-05-2012 06:08 AM

To get the wrinkles out after loading onto LA, I would try using a steamer or the wrinkle release spray that Downey makes. I toss wrinkled fabric into the dryer with a couple wet washrags and let it run for about 20 minutes....that usually does the trick for me.

jemma 11-05-2012 06:17 AM

lavender essential oil 5 drops in 250mls of filtered water spray on creased cotton +it irons up soo easy---supposed to relax the fibers--smells good too

dunster 11-05-2012 06:26 AM