Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Does anyone use this for longarm bobbin? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/does-anyone-use-longarm-bobbin-t293646.html)

Jan in FL 12-30-2017 07:42 AM

Does anyone use this for longarm bobbin?

I am very new to longarm quilting and want all the help I can get. Specifically, I have a HQ Fusion. I saw this on a FB site and am wondering if they would be of benefit. I am struggling with bobbin tension.

https://www.amazon.com/LaPierre-Magi...+bobbin+genies

JustAbitCrazy 12-30-2017 08:42 AM

I was under the impression those were for use in the bobbin case of a dsm when free motion quilting. My longarm bobbin case has a flat spring in the case under the bobbin. Those do wear out from time to time, and need replaced. In the past when I had tension issues I couldn't seem to fix, it was because something, usually a spring, had worn out and needed replaced. I don't have a HQ, though; I have a Gammill, but I would think the same should apply to any longarm. The beauty of industrial machines is that when parts wear out they can be replaced, unlike dsm's.

selm 12-30-2017 08:50 AM

I believe you can use the bobbin genie in a longarm. The description at Amazon says it is a "M" bobbin size which is for a longarm. I may get it also as my spring is getting old.

Snooze2978 12-30-2017 10:18 AM

I know some folks do use them on their quilt machine but be sure you get the correct size for your bobbin. Most quilt machines use a "M" size bobbin, not sure what your HQ uses though.

Cari-in-Oly 12-30-2017 10:24 AM

Originally Posted by Snooze2978 (Post 7972419)
I know some folks do use them on their quilt machine but be sure you get the correct size for your bobbin. Most quilt machines use a "M" size bobbin, not sure what your HQ uses though.

HQ machines use M class bobbins.

Cari

Macybaby 12-30-2017 11:06 AM