Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Embrodiery floss question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/embrodiery-floss-question-t179575.html)

ka9sdn 02-16-2012 06:02 AM

Embrodiery floss question

I am starting a new project and it tells me to pre-wash my floss before I emb. I have never done that before and wonder just how do you do it? Do I take it out of the skein and then lay it flat to dry or leave it all folded together. Wouldn't that make it hard to dry? I don't want to ruin all my work if it runs. Any help?

pamelainsa 02-16-2012 06:06 AM

Hi, I have been doing X Stitch for 30 odd years and have never washed my floss. I use DMC and have never had a problem. I wash my work in cool water when I have finished it.

mummadee 02-16-2012 06:13 AM

Me either. I agree with pamelainsa I never wash before I'm done unless there is a catastrophic accident like spilling coffee on the piece. Never had a problem.

Val in IN 02-16-2012 06:34 AM

I've been emroidering and cross stitching since I was a child ( when dinosaurs still roamed the earth) and I have NEVER washed floss before using it. I can't imagine how or why you would do it but I can assure you that I won't be trying it.

ksdot417 02-16-2012 06:37 AM

I have actually had some of the reds bleed a little, even while I was working on them. I think you could just soak them for a little while in cold water and rinse them until the water stays clear. And then let them air dry.

Tartan 02-16-2012 06:45 AM