Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Embrodiery floss question

Embrodiery floss question

I am starting a new project and it tells me to pre-wash my floss before I emb. I have never done that before and wonder just how do you do it? Do I take it out of the skein and then lay it flat to dry or leave it all folded together. Wouldn't that make it hard to dry? I don't want to ruin all my work if it runs. Any help?

Hi, I have been doing X Stitch for 30 odd years and have never washed my floss. I use DMC and have never had a problem. I wash my work in cool water when I have finished it.

Me either. I agree with pamelainsa I never wash before I'm done unless there is a catastrophic accident like spilling coffee on the piece. Never had a problem.

Blog Entries
    I've been emroidering and cross stitching since I was a child ( when dinosaurs still roamed the earth) and I have NEVER washed floss before using it. I can't imagine how or why you would do it but I can assure you that I won't be trying it.
    "I've always been crazy, but it's kept me from going insane!"
    Valarie

I have actually had some of the reds bleed a little, even while I was working on them. I think you could just soak them for a little while in cold water and rinse them until the water stays clear. And then let them air dry.

Power Poster