Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   FMQ vs Rulers: Pros and Cons? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/fmq-vs-rulers-pros-cons-t319969.html)

JenMo 01-24-2023 08:37 AM

FMQ vs Rulers: Pros and Cons?

Hi everyone,
I created my first quilt last Spring for my mom. I was a complete newbie, but dived right into ruler and FM quilting. I took an intro to quilting class at my local quilt shop and followed up with a ruler quilting intro class. But then I wanted motifs I couldn't do with rulers, so I studied Lori Kennedy's site and books. My quilt ended up being about 2/3 ruler-quilted and 1/3 FMQ.

I am now working on 4th& Main's "Illusions" quilt, piecing and quilting each block individually, QAYG -style. I am using a ruler for the central block flower motif, but the rest is all FMQ.

I guess my question for you experienced folks is, which method do you prefer? Or do you also use a mix of ruler and pure FMQ? I do like the regularity of ruler quilting, but rulers are expensive and also I find them kind of a pain to use - more "stuff" to manage while quilting. I am loving FMQ and feel like, with practice, I may not need rulers at all in the future....

What do you gravitate toward?

sewbizgirl 01-24-2023 10:04 AM

I have some rulers but really only use the straight one to help with SITD. I much prefer the freedom of FMQ and use it on most all of my quilts. Even tho my FM quilting isn't perfect, the 'hand drawn' look is rather charming, if do say so myself. I like 'charming' better than perfect.

rryder 01-24-2023 01:40 PM