Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Help with Bargello Island Sunset Twist & Turn (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/help-bargello-island-sunset-twist-turn-t179686.html)

swanrd 02-17-2012 04:41 AM

Help with Bargello Island Sunset Twist & Turn

I would love to make a queen size in this pattern can anyone figure it for me? in the book it makes a 40 1/4 X 56 1/2 & I am not good at redoing the math. The quilt is Island Sunset in the book twist & turn bargello quilts. Thanks for your help.
CathieB (swanrd )

shnnn 02-17-2012 04:51 AM

Double the bargello then adjust the boarders to the size you want would be my suggestion... just remember when you double it you need 4x the fabric :)

Buckeye Rose 02-17-2012 05:58 AM

I just looked up the pattern (I have to book too!) and saw that without adjusting the block sizes, the only way to increase would be to add more borders and I am afraid that that won't look right. I don't think you want to mess with the pattern of the bargello either. I would double the size of each block. It will keep the integrity of the pattern intact. That means that where the initial strips to be cut are 1-1/2", cut them 3". And on the strips for the pattern, double that as well....so where strip numbered 1 is 3/4", cut it 1-1/2". If I am wrong, please somebody jump in and correct me.

Buckeye Rose 02-17-2012 09:35 AM

Please don't rely on my suggestions only....keep posting as I may be all wrong

nativetexan 02-17-2012 09:44 AM

is this the one with only one block design and you just lay them out differently to "twist" your designs? If so, you could simply enlarge the block. if necessary you could draw it out on paper or take to a copy shop.

Havplenty 02-17-2012 09:59 AM

Originally Posted by swanrd (Post 4982417)