Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Help/I have a really stupid question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/help-i-have-really-stupid-question-t153406.html)

Quilt-Till-U-Wilt 09-16-2011 09:48 AM

Somehow instead of cutting the material across the grain I cut it on the up and down grain. I'm making half square triangles and they went together fine. I have 1/2 of them done. Should I keep cutting the way I started or cut from selvage to selvage like I should have. Will this affect anything once I put the quilt together. Guess I was in too much of a hurry.

mhunt1717 09-16-2011 09:49 AM

I'm no expert, but I would think if you cut them square that two of the sides would be on the cross grain?

Scissor Queen 09-16-2011 09:59 AM

It doesn't really matter which direction you cut them first.

RenaB 09-16-2011 10:05 AM

Originally Posted by Scissor Queen

My thoughts exactly :thumbup:

cjomomma 09-16-2011 10:08 AM

I do this all the time. I never pay attention to which way I am cutting.

jljack 09-16-2011 10:08 AM

Originally Posted by Quilt-Till-U-Wilt
Somehow instead of cutting the material across the grain I cut it on the up and down grain. I'm making half square triangles and they went together fine. I have 1/2 of them done. Should I keep cutting the way I started or cut from selvage to selvage like I should have. Will this affect anything once I put the quilt together. Guess I was in too much of a hurry.

It doesn't matter across or by length...what would matter would be diagonal, which would give you all bias pieces...not good!!

Quilt-Till-U-Wilt 09-16-2011 10:09 AM

Thank you. You're all the greatest. I panicked for a minute.

QuiltnLady1 09-16-2011 10:10 AM