Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Jelly roll question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/jelly-roll-question-t299480.html)

Annie C 09-11-2018 04:30 PM

Jelly roll question

I am new to quilting (I have taken a class locally) and decided to make a jelly roll quilt by viewing tutorials online. The jelly roll I purchased from a chain fabric store is imperfectly cut. The strips vary in size from 2.5” (which is what they should be) to 2.75”. Should I take the time to cut down the strips that are too wide? Thanks for your answers.

ILoveToQuilt 09-11-2018 05:03 PM

If you like the jelly roll, carefully cut them down to size. If you don't cut them, you will have to use a larger seam allowance to compensate for the extra 1/4 inch. I personally would cut them. How many are the incorrect size? If too many to cut, maybe find yardage of another fabric and cut your own 2.5" strips to replace the ones that are wrong. Just my 2 cents!

Welcome to the board and happy quilting!

Annie C 09-11-2018 06:13 PM

Thank you! Your advice is super helpful. My sewing sense told me to trim them, but I needed some expert advice.

Ariannaquilts 09-11-2018 09:09 PM

I personally would not cut them I would use them as they are, it's just a design element.

Sandra in Minnesota 09-11-2018 09:23 PM

I would not cut them either. Who is going to measure them?

QuiltingHaven 09-12-2018 02:11 AM

I would wash them before you cut them from 2.75 to 2.50. Because they will shrink and become 2.50 after washing and then they will be perfect for your quilt. Learned the hard way. I wash all my fabric when it comes in the house. You want it 2.50 to work the jelly rolls. When I wash the jelly rolls almost all are 2.50, they always shrink 2.25 and I adapt what I get and create the quilt from there. Great to get 2.75 washed down to 2.50.

Sandygirl 09-12-2018 04:21 AM