Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Jelly roll question

Blog Entries

Jelly roll question

I am new to quilting (I have taken a class locally) and decided to make a jelly roll quilt by viewing tutorials online. The jelly roll I purchased from a chain fabric store is imperfectly cut. The strips vary in size from 2.5 (which is what they should be) to 2.75. Should I take the time to cut down the strips that are too wide? Thanks for your answers.

If you like the jelly roll, carefully cut them down to size. If you don't cut them, you will have to use a larger seam allowance to compensate for the extra 1/4 inch. I personally would cut them. How many are the incorrect size? If too many to cut, maybe find yardage of another fabric and cut your own 2.5" strips to replace the ones that are wrong. Just my 2 cents!

Welcome to the board and happy quilting!
    Anita

The only place that housework comes before quilting is in the dictionary.

Blog Entries
    Thank you! Your advice is super helpful. My sewing sense told me to trim them, but I needed some expert advice.

I personally would not cut them I would use them as they are, it's just a design element.
    Maria
    Always be true to yourself!

Blog Entries
    I would not cut them either. Who is going to measure them?

I would wash them before you cut them from 2.75 to 2.50. Because they will shrink and become 2.50 after washing and then they will be perfect for your quilt. Learned the hard way. I wash all my fabric when it comes in the house. You want it 2.50 to work the jelly rolls. When I wash the jelly rolls almost all are 2.50, they always shrink 2.25 and I adapt what I get and create the quilt from there. Great to get 2.75 washed down to 2.50.
    Last edited by QuiltingHaven; 09-12-2018 at 02:16 AM.
    Busy in Ohio