Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Kona Solid Red (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/kona-solid-red-t314769.html)

Clueless Quilter 03-14-2021 03:34 PM

Kona Solid Red

Hi,

Has anyone used the solid red Kona cotton and had a problem with it running? I love the Kona cottons, however, I have no experience using their solid red and don't want to buy it and find out that it runs.

I just avoided a disaster with a solid red (manufacturer unknown) that I was going to use to border a top I made with some diamonds that were cut out by my great-grandmother in the late 1940's to early 1950's. At just the last minute I decided to wash the red fabric and I am so grateful that I did. The first time I washed it the water was as red as the fabric itself. The second time I washed it I added both vinegar and salt to help set the dye. It is now on its third wash and the water is still quite pink so I won't be using it at all.

Thanks for any help you can give!

MicheleC 03-14-2021 03:54 PM

I have a Kona red (I don’t remember what the color name is) that I used in a log cabin quilt. I don’t have issues with it bleeding when washed in the quilt. I do pre-wash my fabric.

MakaySews 03-14-2021 04:27 PM

I never have a problem with Kona Red

dunster 03-14-2021 04:40 PM

Vinegar and salt won't set modern dyes. Use Retayne instead.

You're smart to give up on that red fabric that runs. I tend to trust the Kona solids.

stitch678 03-14-2021 05:05 PM

I prewash every fabric as l bring it in the house before allowing it in my stash. I too find Kona solids are reliable. But l'd still wash to get that first shrinkage out of the way. I found that as l mix a variety of cottons from various sources, l seldom get distortion.

Watson 03-15-2021 08:26 AM

With red or turquoise, I would pre-wash and use Retayne.
It's one small step that could save you a lot of grief later.